Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Committee Details

Standing Committee on Social Issues

The Social Issues Committee was first established on 9 June 1988 in the 49th Parliament and has been reappointed in each subsequent Parliament.  The committee was most recently reappointed on 8 May 2019.


The committee was established to inquire into and report on:


  • issues concerned with the social development and wellbeing of the people of New South Wales, including health, education, housing, ageing, disability, children's services and community services, and 
  • matters concerned with citizenship, sport and recreation and gaming and racing.


The Standing Committee on Social Issues has published two Legacy Reports:


Chair: Barrett, Scott (NAT, LC Member)
Deputy Chair: Buttigieg, Mark (ALP, LC Member)
Members: Boyd, Abigail (GRNS, LC Member)
Farlow, Scott (LIB, LC Member)
Mallard, Shayne (LIB, LC Member)
Nile, Fred (IND, LC Member)
Primrose, Peter (ALP, LC Member)
Rath, Chris (LIB, LC Member)