Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Inquiry Details

Gay and Transgender hate crimes between 1970 and 2010

This inquiry was established on 19 September 2018 to inquire into gay and transgender hate crimes between 1970 and 2010.


The public hearing scheduled for Thursday 24 January 2019 has been postponed until further notice.


Seeking support

ACON, QLife and Lifeline provide counselling services for LGBTI community members who have experienced violence, as well as survivors' friends and loved ones. Please call: ACON on (02) 9206 2000, QLife on 1800 184 527, or Lifeline on 13 14 11. For more information visit:, or


Strong or offensive language used in evidence

Owing to the nature of the hate crimes being considered by this inquiry, some of the evidence received during hearings and in submissions may include strong or offensive language.