

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL ISSUES

Inquiry into Gay and Transgender hate crimes between 1970 and 2010

Terms of reference

That with reference to the May 2018 report of ACON *In Pursuit of Truth and Justice* and the progress made by NSW Police Force through Strike Force Parrabell, the Standing Committee on Social Issues inquire into and report on the response to Gay and Transgender hate crimes between 1970 and 2010 and current developments in policy and practice in relation to such crimes, and in particular:

- (a) the violent crimes committed in New South Wales between 1970 and 2010 where the victim of that crime was a member of the LGBTIQ community and where the relevant crime was the subject of a report to the NSW Police Force, including:
 - (i) whether there existed impediments within the criminal justice system that impacted the protection of LGBTIQ people in New South Wales and the delivery of justice to victims of LGBTIQ hate crimes and their families, with reference to case studies of particular matters including but not limited to Alan Rosendale, Scott Johnson, John Russell and Ross Warren,
 - (ii) to the extent that past impediments are identified, how effectively these have been addressed by current policy and practice,
- (b) in relation to LGBTIQ hate crimes more generally:
 - (i) what role the so-called 'Gay panic' defence played in the culture of LGBTIQ hate crimes between 1970 and 2010,
 - (ii) how the so-called 'Gay panic' defence impacted the delivery of justice and the treatment of Gay men during LGBTIQ hate crime investigations and court proceedings, and
- (c) any other related matter.

Committee membership

The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC	Liberal Party	Chair
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	Deputy Chair
The Hon Trevor Khan MLC*	The Nationals	
The Hon Natalie Ward MLC*	Liberal Party	
The Hon Penny Sharpe MLC	Australian Labor Party	
Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC	Christian Democratic Party	

^{*}Mr Trevor Khan MLC substituted for Mr Wes Fang MLC (from 19 September 2018) for the duration of the inquiry.

^{*}Mrs Natalie Ward MLC substituted for Dr Peter Phelps MLC (from 26 September 2018) for the duration of the inquiry.