Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Department structure

Department structure

The Department of the Legislative Council provides procedural, analytical and administrative support services to enable members of the Legislative Council to perform their parliamentary duties effectively. The parliamentary head of the Department is the President of the Legislative Council and the departmental head is the Clerk of the Parliaments.

Staff of the Department

Office of the Clerk
The Clerk of the Parliaments, also known as the Clerk of the Legislative Council, provides expert advice on parliamentary law, practice and procedure to the President, ministers and members of the House.

The Clerk is also responsible to the President for the efficient and effective administration of the Department, and works collaboratively with the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly and the Executive Manager of Parliamentary Services in relation to the administration of matters concerning the New South Wales Parliament as a whole.

The current Clerk - Mr David Blunt

The Clerk is assisted in the role by the Deputy Clerk.

The Procedure Office
The Procedure Office provides research, procedural and administrative support in relation to the operations of the House and the work of members. Responsibilities include:
  • preparation for sittings of the House
  • the publication of the official business papers of the House: the Minutes of Proceedings, the Notice Paper and the Questions and Answers Paper
  • the maintenance of various databases on legislation, tabled papers and other procedures of the House
  • the provision of advice in relation to constitutional, procedural and privilege matters
  • the delivery of training programs for members and their staff and professional development programs to enhance the procedural knowledge and skills of departmental staff
  • enhancing community awareness of the role of the Legislative Council.

The Procedure Office is managed by the Clerk Assistant - Procedure.

The Black Rod's Office
The Black Rod's Office is responsible for:
  • the protocol functions for the Legislative Council. This involves the coordination of ceremonial events related to the House, delegations and consular visits and the management of the Fountain Court exhibition space.
  • chamber and support services when the House is sitting, including preparing the chamber each day when the House is in session, conveying messages and papers and generally ensuring that members are supported in their activities.
  • assisting with visitor inquiries, delivering presentations on the functions and history of the Legislative Council to a range of school and community groups, managing meeting rooms, and providing administrative support for the Department.
  • managing the visitor experience to Parliament House and the Legislative Council.

The Black Rod's Office is managed by the Usher of the Black Rod.

The Committee Office
The Committee Office provides research, procedural and administrative support to the various committees of the Legislative. There are currently ten standing committees of the Council. The Committee Office may also be called on to support specially appointed select committees and joint committees of the Parliament.

Each inquiry is supported by a number of committee staff who are responsible for keeping the records of the committee, organising the meeting and hearings of committees and preparing the Chair’s draft report.

Each year the Committee Office also organises the annual Budget Estimates hearings.

The Committee Office is managed by the Clerk Assistant - Committees.

More information
The Legislative Council Organisation Chart.
The Legislative Council Contact Directory.