Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Committee Details

Select Committee on the Proposed Sale of Snowy Hydro Limited

The Committee was established on 3 May 2006 to inquire into and report on the proposed sale of the Snowy Hydro Limited by the Government.

On 2 June 2006, the Prime Minister, the Hon John Howard MP, announced that the Commonwealth would be withdrawing from the sale of its stake in Snowy Hydro Limited.  Subsequently, the NSW Premier, the Hon Morris Iemma MP, announced that the sale of the NSW Government stake in Snowy Hydro Limited is now impractical. In light of this announcement, the Committee tabled its Report into the proposed sale of Snowy Hydro Limited on 7 June 2006.

Note that a separate committee was formed to inquire into the continued public ownership of Snowy Hydro Limited after the sale was not proceeded with - see the Select Committee on the Continued Public Ownership of Snowy Hydro Limited.
Resolution passed 3 May 2006, Minutes No. 148, Item 29, p1990
That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the proposed
sale of Snowy Hydro Limited by the Government, and in particular:
whether the proposed sale of the Snowy Hydro Limited is in the public interest,
the need for the sale of the Snowy Hydro Limited,
impacts on the short and long term financial position of the Government
including impacts on revenue and recurrent costs,
potential compensation payments to affected parties,
intended use of funds raised from privatisation,
control of water regulation,
future location of Snowy Hydro Limited headquarters,
job security for the current workforce,
access to lands controlled by Snowy Hydro Limited,
removal of disused Hydro infrastructure in National Parks,
limits to foreign and majority share ownership,
impacts on tourism and local communities in the region,
continuation of support of community events and activities by Snowy Hydro
impacts on local councils,
heritage issues,
land release issues, and
any other related matters.
That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, the committee
consist of seven members comprising:
three government members,
Mrs Pavey and Mrs Forsythe, and
Revd Dr Moyes and Ms Hale.

That the Chair of the committee be Revd Dr Moyes.
That the Deputy Chair be elected at the first meeting of the committee.
That the committee report by Friday 27 October 2006
– put and passed.