## PARLIAMENT OF NSW

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE PROPOSED SALE OF SNOWY HYDRO LIMITED

## Inquiry into the proposed sale of Snowy Hydro Limited

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the proposed sale of Snowy Hydro Limited by the Government, and in particular:
  - (a) whether the proposed sale of the Snowy Hydro Limited is in the public interest,
  - (b) the need for the sale of the Snowy Hydro Limited,
  - (c) impacts on the short and long term financial position of the Government including impacts on revenue and recurrent costs,
  - (d) potential compensation payments to affected parties,
  - (e) intended use of funds raised from privatisation,
  - (f) control of water regulation,
  - (g) future location of Snowy Hydro Limited headquarters,
  - (h) job security for the current workforce,
  - (i) access to lands controlled by Snowy Hydro Limited,
  - (j) removal of disused Hydro infrastructure in National Parks,
  - (k) limits to foreign and majority share ownership,
  - (l) impacts on tourism and local communities in the region,
  - (m) continuation of support of community events and activities by Snowy Hydro Limited,
  - (n) impacts on local councils,
  - (o) heritage issues,
  - (p) land release issues, and
  - (q) any other related matters.

- 2. That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, the committee consist of seven members comprising:
  - (a) three government members,
  - (b) Mrs Pavey and Mrs Forsythe, and
  - (c) Revd Dr Moyes and Ms Hale.
- 3. (1) That the Chair of the committee be Revd Dr Moyes.
  - (2) That the Deputy Chair be elected at the first meeting of the committee.
- 4. That the committee report by Friday 27 October 2006 put and passed.

## Committee Membership

Revd The Hon Dr Gordon Moyes MLC	Christian Democratic Party	Chair
The Hon Melinda Pavey MLC	The Nationals	Deputy Chair
The Hon Tony Catanzariti MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Greg Donnelly MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Amanda Fazio MLC	Australian Labor Party	
The Hon Patricia Forsythe MLC	Liberal Party	
Ms Sylvia Hale MLC	The Greens	