Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Inquiry Details

Equity, accessibility and appropriate delivery of outpatient and community mental health care in New South Wales

This inquiry was established on 12 July 2023 to inquire into and report on the equity, accessibility and appropriate delivery of outpatient and community mental health care in New South Wales.


Video recordings of hearings, where available, can be found on the NSW Parliament's YouTube channel here.​


Have your say

Submissions about individual health care experiences will inform our thinking about the equity, accessibility and delivery of outpatient and community mental health care in New South Wales. However, this inquiry will not be conducting investigations or reviews of individual cases. Specific concerns about individual experiences can be raised with the NSW Health Care Complaints Commission by calling 02 9219 7444 or emailing [email protected].


Seeking support

If you require further support, please contact one of the organisations listed below:

Lifeline 13 11 14 (24/7) or text 0477 131 114. Lifeline is a free 24/7 telephone crisis support service.

Mental Health Line 1800 011 511. Mental Health Line is a NSW 24/7 statewide phone services which links people with NSW mental health services.

Kids Helpline 1800 55 1800. Kids Helpline provides free confidential counselling by phone or webchat for 12-25 year olds.

13Yarn 13 92 76. 13Yarn is a free 24/7 Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islanders crisis support line.

QLife  1800 184 527. QLife provides phone or webchat peer support from 3pm-midnight for LGBTQIA+ people



To speak to the 24/7 NSW Mental Health Line in a language other than English, call the Translating and Interpreting Service on 131 450, state your preferred language, and ask for the service to be phoned on 1800 011 511. The Transcultural Mental Health Line can also assist with information, referral and connection to services on 1800 648 911.


Chair: Cohn, Amanda (GRNS, LC Member)
Deputy Chair: Carter, Susan (LIB, LC Member)
Members: Buttigieg, Mark (ALP, LC Member)
Donnelly, Greg (ALP, LC Member)
Faehrmann, Cate (GRNS, LC Member)
Suvaal, Emily (ALP, LC Member)
Taylor, Bronnie (NAT, LC Member)