PORTFOLIO COMMITTEE NO. 2 – HEALTH

## Inquiry into the equity, accessibility and appropriate delivery of outpatient and community mental health care in New South Wales

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

That Portfolio Committee No. 2 – Health inquire into and report on the equity, accessibility and appropriate delivery of outpatient and community mental health care in New South Wales, and in particular:

- (a) equity of access to outpatient mental health services
- (b) navigation of outpatient and community mental health services from the perspectives of patients and carers
- (c) capacity of State and other community mental health services, including in rural, regional and remote New South Wales
- (d) integration between physical and mental health services, and between mental health services and providers
- (e) appropriate and efficient allocation of mental health care workers, including psychiatrists, nurses, psychologists, GPs, counsellors, social workers, allied health professionals and peer workers
- (f) the use of Community Treatment Orders under the Mental Health Act 2007
- (g) benefits and risks of online and telehealth services
- (h) accessibility and cultural safety of mental health services for First Nations people, culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD), LGBTQIA+ people, young people, and people with disability
- (i) alternatives to police for emergency responses to people experiencing acute mental distress, psychosis, delirium, dementia or intoxication in the community, including but not limited to Police, Ambulance, Clinical, Early, Response (PACER)
- (i) any other related matter.

The terms of reference for the inquiry were self-referred by the committee on 12 July 2023.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup> Minutes, NSW Legislative Council, 1 August 2023, p 294.

## Committee membership

| Dr Amanda Cohn MLC     | The Greens             | Chair        |
|------------------------|------------------------|--------------|
| Hon Susan Carter MLC   | Liberal Party          | Deputy Chair |
| Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC | Australian Labor Party |              |
| Hon Greg Donnelly MLC  | Australian Labor Party |              |
| Ms Cate Faehrmann MLC  | The Greens             |              |
| Hon Emily Suvaal MLC   | Australian Labor Party |              |
| Hon Bronnie Taylor MLC | The Nationals          |              |