Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Committee Details

Legislative Council Selection of Bills Committee

The Selection of Bills Committee was established on 23 November 2017 to report on whether any bill should be referred to either the Standing Committee on Law and Justice, Standing Committee on Social Issues or Standing Committee on State Development for inquiry and report, and in particular: 

(a) the committee to which the bill should be referred,

(b) the stage in the consideration of the bill at which it should be referred to the committee, and

(c) the reporting date.

The Selection of Bills Committee cannot consider bills which contain no provisions other than provisions appropriating revenue or moneys.

The Selection of Bills Committee has been appointed, on a trial basis, to commence on the first sitting day in 2018 and will conclude on the last sitting day in November 2018. 


Evaluation of the Selection of Bills Committee Trial

Chair: Maclaren-Jones, Natasha (LIB, LC Member)
Deputy Chair: Moselmane, Shaoquett (ALP, LC Member)
Members: Brown, Robert (SFF, LC Member)
Khan, Trevor (NAT, LC Member)
Nile, Fred (CDP, LC Member)
Pearson, Mark (AJP, LC Member)
Phelps, Peter (LIB, LC Member)
Shoebridge, David (GRNS, LC Member)
Voltz, Lynda (ALP, LC Member)