Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Restoration of Truth

Restoration of Truth

​​​​​​Boomalli (1).png

To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Reconciliation Wall at NSW Parliament House, artists from the Boomalli Aboriginal Artists Co-operative are returning with a new exhibition, Restoration of Truth

Established in 1987, Boomalli has a membership of over 60 artists from across NSW Aboriginal language groups. In the languages of the Bundjalung, Gamilaroi and Wiradjuri, Boomalli means to strike; to make a mark. Boomalli were the first exhibitors on the Reconciliation Wall back in 1998 and 25 years later, exhibition Restoration of Truth will feature more than 40 artworks representing the breadth of the talent and diversity of Aboriginal artists in NSW. 

Exhibiting artists: Annette Kennedy, Arone Meeks (dec.), Blak Douglas, Brieanna Geary, D​r. Bronwyn Bancroft, Charmaine Davis, Chenaya Bancroft-Davis, Danny Eastwood, Darren Charlwood, Deborah Taylor, Debra Beale, Ella Noah Bancroft, Euphemia Bostock, Gordon Hookey, Gordon Syron, Graeme Walker, Hayley Pigram, Helen Low, Jai Walker, Jake Soewardie, Jamie Eastwood, Jasmine Sarin, Jeffrey Samuels, Joanne Cassady, Joe Hurst (dec.), Jude Jarrett, Kevin Winanggaay May, Kim Healey, Maddison Gibbs, Nadeena Dixon, Nathan Falk, Nioka Lowe-Brennan, Nola Taylor, Rubyrose Bancroft, Sharon Smith, Sooty Welsh and Wanita Lowe. 

The exhibition is being hosted at Parliament House by Kobi Shetty MP. 

How to see the exhibition

Visit the exhibition at NSW Parliament House on weekdays​, 9am to 5pm through to the end of January 2024. ​The Parliament is currently undergoing restoration works but remains open to the public. Access is to the left of the building via the security gatehouse. Visitors ​can follow the signage​ into the building and take either the stairs or lift to the Fountain Court exhibition space.​

Please note that the exhibition will be closed from 23 December, reopening Monday 8 January 2024.

Virtual exhibition

Those unable to see the exhibition in person can view the artworks via the virtual gallery below.


Artist interview: Darren Charlwood

Watch an interview with Darren Charlwood, whose artwork 'Miyagan (Kindred)' is among those on display as part of the Restoration of Truth exhibition.


Artist interview: Kevin Winanggaay May

In this video, arist Kevin Winanggaay May shares the inspiration behind his artworks 'Freedom' and 'Solid Uluru', both of which feature in the Restoration of Trust exhibition to mark the 25th anniversary of the Reconciliation Wall at the Parliament of NSW.​


Artist interview: Danny and Jamie Eastwood

In this video, father-and-son artists Danny and Jamie Eastwood share the backstories to their artworks 'Emu and Kookaburra' and 'Dark Emu in the Sky', both on display as part of the Restoration of Truth​ exhibition to mark the 25th anniversary of the Reconciliation Wall at the Parliament of NSW.