Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Former Member Details

Mr Walter Hampson COOPER (1842 - 1880)

Member Photo
Date of Birth: 06/07/1842
Place of Birth: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
Date of Death: 26/07/1880
Place of Death: New South Wales, Australia
Parliamentary Service
Position Start End Period Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 01 Dec 1873 28 Nov 1874 11 months 29 days
Member for East Macquarie 01 Dec 1873 28 Nov 1874 11 months 29 days
Macquarie-street Roman Catholic School Site Sale Bill Committee No.22 16 Jan 1874 22 Jan 1874 7 days
The Sydney Museum Committee No.27 24 Feb 1874 18 May 1874 2 months 25 days Chairman
Newtown Omnibus Company’s Incorporation Bill Committee No.24 16 Jan 1874 25 Jun 1874 5 months 10 days
The Governor’s Opening Speech Committee No.1 03 Nov 1874 03 Nov 1874 1 day Chairman
Waratah Coal Company’s Bill Committee No.6 06 Nov 1874 12 Nov 1874 7 days
Letter addressed to M.M Rochefort and Grousset Committee No.5 05 Nov 1874 26 Nov 1874 22 days
Political Party Activity
Appointed as an electoral organiser for Sir Henry Parkes in 1872 and 1875. Divided in 1878.
Community Activity
Qualifications, occupations and interests
Journalist and Lawyer (barrister). Commenced his career as a journalist on the Queensland 'Guardian'. In 1866, he was a parliamentary reporter with the Sydney Morning Herald. He worked for the Melbourne Argus but returned to the Sydney Morning Herald in 1871. He was on the paper's literary staff until 1872. Was a journalist when he was elected to the Legislative Assembly. Was a playwright and travelled to Americal in 1874 but failed to have his plays produced there. Was admitted to the New South Wales Bar on 13 December 1875.
Military Service
Honours Received
Membership of other Parliaments & Offices Held
Local Government Activity
Son of Joshua Cooper and Anne Jane Thompson. Married Ellen Elizabeth Kelly in 1867 in Sydney and had issue, 5 sons and 1 daughter.
Additional Information
References: Australian Dictionary of Biography, volume three; Members of the Legislative Assembly of New South Wales 1856-1901