Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Former Member Details

Mr (Bill) William Harmon BECKROGE (1944 - )

Member Photo
Date of Birth: 10/12/1944
Place of Birth: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Date of Death:
Place of Death:
Parliamentary Service
Position Start End Period Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 19 Sep 1981 05 Mar 1999 17 years 5 months 15 days Maiden speech delivered on 11 November 1981
Member for Broken Hill 19 Sep 1981 05 Mar 1984 2 years 5 months 16 days
Member for Broken Hill 24 Mar 1984 22 Feb 1988 3 years 10 months 30 days
Member for Broken Hill 19 Mar 1988 03 May 1991 3 years 1 month 15 days
Member for Broken Hill 25 May 1991 03 May 1995 3 years 11 months 9 days
Member for Broken Hill 25 Mar 1995 05 Mar 1999 3 years 11 months 9 days
Political Party Activity
Australian Labor Party (ALP). Secretary New South Wales Parliamentary Labor Party since February 1987. Member Caucus committees on Agriculture; Lands; Water Resources; Mining. State Conference delegate since 1975. Country Conference delegate since 1981. Member Broken Hill Branch since 1972. Member Standing Orders and Procedure Committee. Member Joint Select Committee to enquire into the Western Division of New South Wales 1981-1984; Joint Select Committee upon Worker's Compensation 1983-1984.
Community Activity
Secretary Broken Hill and District Blind Citizens since 1977. Director New South Wales Geological and Mining Museum since 1984. Patron and vice patron of numerous community organisations.
Qualifications, occupations and interests
Journalist. Educated at Darlinghurst Public School, Cleveland Street Boys High School and University of New England, Armidale. Trained as a Cadet Journalist with the Daily Mirror. Worked for Sun Herald, Barrier Daily, Barrier Miner, BKN Channel 7 and Radio 2BH Broken Hill. Research Officer. Previously journalist 1962-1974; Building Society Manager 1980-1981. Recreational interests include reading, playing bocce and lawn bowls, and travelling.
Military Service
Honours Received
Membership of other Parliaments & Offices Held
Local Government Activity
Additional Information
Electorate description: Rural. Located within Western Plains Statistical Agricultural Area. Principal centres: city of Broken Hill and towns of Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Ivanhoe, Menindee, Wilcannia. Area: 279,030 sq km Population: 42,017 Enrolment: 27,538