Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Former Member Details

Mr Richard Kelynack EVANS, D.F.C (1922 - 2008)

Member Photo
Date of Birth: 03/04/1922
Place of Birth: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Date of Death: 05/06/2008
Place of Death: Erina, New South WAles, Australia
Parliamentary Service
Position Start End Period Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Council 28 Aug 1969 05 Nov 1978 9 years 2 months 9 days A Member of the indirectly elected Council 1934 - 1978. Date of Election 28 August 1969. Casual vacancy – elected for balance of term of service of Hon. L.E Schofield., deceased.
Political Party Activity
Liberal Party. President of Rylstone Branch, vice president of Mudgee electorate council, state councillor. Member of state executive from 1963 until 1968. Vice President of Liberal Party 1981 - 1986.
Community Activity
Qualifications, occupations and interests
Grazier. Educated at The King's School in Parramatta. Grazier on 8,000 acre family sheep and cattle property, Dabee, Rylstone and 7,500 acres in Queensland; Rylstone Shire Bushfire Captain from 1956 until 1964; deputy controller of state emergency services, Rylstone from 1959 until 1969; branch president of the Graziers Association; Union Club. Holder of a private pilot's license. Recreational interests included squash, tennis, swimming and sailing.
Military Service
Served in Royal Australian Air Force from 1941 until 1945, India and Burma, fighter pilot. Member of Caterpillar Club given to those who were shot down and survived.
Honours Received
Awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) 22 November 1945
Membership of other Parliaments & Offices Held
Local Government Activity
Councillor of Rylstone Shire from 1959 until 1969, President from 1961 from 1969; Chairman of Cudgegong County Council from 1967 until 1969. Returned to Rylestone Shire 1979 - 1986 as President.
Son of Robert Fitzgerald, grazier, and Helen Madge Kelynack. Married (1) Joan Fawcett on 3 April 1946 and had issue, 2 daughters and 3 sons. Married (2) Beryl Alice Bowman, former Liberal Member of Legislative Council, on 30 July 1976.
Additional Information