Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Former Member Details

Mr William Edwin KNOTT (1921 - 2013)

Member Photo
Date of Birth: 16/02/1921
Place of Birth: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Date of Death: 19/04/2013
Place of Death: New South Wales, Australia
Parliamentary Service
Position Start End Period Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 07 Oct 1978 31 Dec 1985 7 years 2 months 25 days
Member for Wollondilly 07 Oct 1978 28 Aug 1981 2 years 10 months 22 days
Member for Kiama 19 Sep 1981 05 Mar 1984 2 years 5 months 16 days
Member for Kiama 24 Mar 1984 31 Dec 1985 1 year 9 months 8 days
Political Party Activity
Australian Labor Party (ALP). Joined in 1953. State Electoral Council. Federal Electoral Council. Communist Party.
Community Activity
Chairman of Condobolin Aboriginal Committee 1953 - 1961. Active members of Co-operatives for Aborigines College. Co-operation with trade unions and South Coast Trades and Labor Council.
Qualifications, occupations and interests
Electrical Contractor. Educated at St Mary's College, Sydney and Christian Brothers College, Strathfield. Intermediate Certificate. Ultimo Technical College. Served apprenticeship at New South Wales railways as an electrician. Five years interstate transport contractor. Member of Electrical Trades Union for 42 years. Retired on medical advice with limited political and aboriginal activities.
Military Service
Honours Received
Membership of other Parliaments & Offices Held
Local Government Activity
Alderman at Condobolin Council and Mid-Lachlan County Council 1952 - 1961. Three years member of Kiama Council and Illawarra County Council 1976 - 1979. Assisted in the establishment of Mission Council Housing Scheme, Low interest aboriginal housing loans and other local achievements. Honorary member of Yuin people of Wallace Lake Aborigines. Awarded a burial site at Wallace Lake by tribal elders.
Son of William Edwin Knott and Annie Elizabeth Knott. Married Marie Griffin on 22 October 1949 and had issue, 1 daughter and 3 sons.
Additional Information
Member of Former Members Association of New South Wales Parliament.