Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

The Hon. (Matt) Matthew John KEAN, BBus, GradDipCA MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Hornsby
Treasurer, and Minister for Energy
Member of the Liberal Party
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Hornsby Electorate Office
A The Hon. Matt Kean, MP
Suite 5 The Madison
25-29 Hunter Street
P (02) 9476 3411
F (02) 9476 2965
Ministerial Office
A The Hon. Matt Kean, MP
52 Martin Place
Postal The Hon. Matt Kean MP
GPO Box 5341
P (02) 8574 6150
E Contact the Treasurer, and Minister for Energy

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 26 Mar 2011
Member for Hornsby 26 Mar 2011
Treasurer 05 Oct 2021
Minister for Energy 21 Dec 2021
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Minister for Energy and Environment 05 Oct 2021 21 Dec 2021 2 months 17 days
Minister for Energy and Environment 02 Apr 2019 05 Oct 2021 2 years 6 months 4 days
Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation 30 Jan 2017 02 Apr 2019 2 years 2 months 4 days
Parliamentary Secretary 24 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 year 9 months Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury
Parliamentary Secretary for Communities 06 May 2014 28 Mar 2015 10 months 23 days
Chair, Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer-General 23 Jun 2011 14 May 2014 2 years 10 months 22 days Appointed to the Committee on 22 June 2011 and elected Chair on 23 June 2011.
About the Hornsby Electorate
Outer Metropolitan. Residential suburban. Located Sydney, outer northern.

Principal suburbs: Arcadia, Asquith, Berowra, Berowra Creek, Berowra Heights, Berowra Waters, Berrilee, Brooklyn, Castle Hill, Cowan, Dangar Island, Dural, Fiddletown, Galston, Glenhaven, Hornsby, Hornsby Heights, Middle Dural, Milsons Passage, Mount Colah, Mount Kuring-Gai, Normanhurst, Pennant Hills, Thornleigh, Wahroonga, Waitara, Westleigh.

Area: 320.13 sq km.

Population: 75,908. Enrolment: 55,276.

Political Party Activity

2008 Vice President, NSW Young Liberal Movement. 2010 Federal Council delegate, Liberal Party of Australia. 2010 Senate Selector, Liberal Party of Australia. 2003 - 2011 State Council delegate, Liberal Party of Australia. 2002 - 2006 President, Northcott Young Liberals.

Community Activity

Vice President, Berowra Cricket Club 2010. Delegate, Hornsby Kuring-gai Hills District Cricket Association 2010. Executive Member, UTS Students Association 2004. Parish Council, Holy Name Parish, Wahroonga 2000.

Local Government Activity

Military Service

Honours Received


Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Graduate Diploma of Chartered Accounting (GradDipCA), Institute of Chartered Accountants, 2008. Bachelor of Business (BBus), University of Technology, Sydney, 2005.

2000 - 2010 Accountant, Pricewaterhousecoopers, Sydney. 2005 Advisor, Hon. Catherine Cusack MLC. 2003 Advisor, John Brogden (Leader of the Opposition).

Interests include - Mental health and suicide prevention, education policy, cricket, rugby, rugby league.

Additional Information

Inaugural Speech, Legislative Assembly, 15 June 2011: