Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

Adjunct Professor Tamara Francine SMITH, BA.DipEd, LLB (Hons), GDLP MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Ballina
Member of The Greens
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Ballina Electorate Office
A Adjunct Professor Tamara Smith, MP
Shop 1
7 Moon Street
P (02) 6686 7522
F (02) 6686 7470
E [email protected]

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Law and Safety 15 May 2024
Member, Joint Select Committee on the NSW Reconstruction Authority 29 Nov 2023
Chair, Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer General 22 Jun 2023
Member, Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer General 22 Jun 2023
Member for Ballina 28 Mar 2015
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 28 Mar 2015
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Law and Safety 18 Jun 2019 03 Mar 2023 3 years 8 months 14 days
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Investment, Industry and Regional Development 28 May 2015 01 Mar 2019 3 years 9 months 2 days
About the Ballina Electorate

Includes partially or wholly the following localities and postcodes.

Localities: Alstonvale, Alstonville, Bagotville, Ballina, Bangalow, Billinudgel, Binna Burra, Broken Head, Brooklet, Brunswick Heads, Byron Bay, Cabbage Tree Island, Coolgardie, Coopers Shoot, Coorabell, Cumbalum, Dalwood, East Ballina, East Wardell, Empire Vale, Ewingsdale, Fernleigh, Goat Island, Hayters Hill, Keith Hall, Kinvara, Knockrow, Lennox Head, Lynwood, Main Arm, Marom Creek, McLeans Ridges, McLeods Shoot, Meerschaum Vale, Middle Pocket, Montecollum, Mullumbimby, Mullumbimby Creek, Myocum, New Brighton, Newrybar, Ocean Shores, Palmwoods, Patchs Beach, Pearces Creek, Pimlico, Pimlico Island, Possum Creek, Rous, Rous Mill, Skennars Head, Skinners Shoot, South Ballina, South Golden Beach, Suffolk Park, Talofa, Teven, The Pocket, Tintenbar, Tuckombil, Tyagarah, Upper Main Arm, Uralba, Wardell, West Ballina, Wilsons Creek, Wollongbar, Wooyung, Yelgun.

Postcodes: 2477, 2478, 2479, 2480, 2481, 2482, 2483

Area: 873.907 square kilometres

Enrolment: 57,399

Political Party Activity

Community Activity

Local Government Activity

Military Service

Honours Received

Adjunct Professor, School of Law, Southern Cross University, Current


Qualifications, Occupations and Interests


Admitted solicitor, NSW Supreme Court

Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice, College of Law

Bachelor of Laws (Hons), Southern Cross University

Graduate Diploma in Education, University of Sydney

Bachelor of Arts, University of NSW


Solicitor and teacher.


Adjunct Fellow, School of Law and Justice, Southern Cross University October 2018 to October 2021.

Additional Information

Inaugural Speech, 12 May 2015: