Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details


Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Port Stephens
Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education, and Shadow Minister for the Hunter
Member of the Australian Labor Party
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Port Stephens Electorate Office
A Ms Kate Washington, MP
1/82 Port Stephens Street
P (02) 4987 4455
F (02) 4987 4466

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 28 Mar 2015
Member for Port Stephens 28 Mar 2015
Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education 19 Jan 2016
Shadow Minister for the Hunter 19 Jan 2016
Member, Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission 28 May 2015
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Shadow Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 19 Jan 2016 10 Mar 2016 1 month 21 days
About the Port Stephens Electorate
Rural, residential, suburban. Located within Hunter Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.

Principal towns and suburbs: Anna Bay, Balickera, Boat Harbour, Bobs Farm, Brandy Hill, Bundabah, Butterwick, Campvale, Carrington, Corlette, Duns Creek, Eagleton, East Seaham, Ferodale, Fingal Bay, Fishermans Bay, Glen Oak, Hawks Nest, Heatherbrae, Hinton, Karuah, Lemon Tree Passage, Mallabula, Medowie, Nelson Bay, Nelsons Plains, Nerong, North Arm Cove, One Mile, Osterley, Oyster Cove, Pindimar, Raaf Williamtown, Raymond Terrace, Salamander Bay, Salt Ash, Seaham, Shoal Bay, Soldiers Point, Swan Bay, Tahlee, Tanilba Bay, Taylors Beach, Tea Gardens, The Branch, Tomago, Twelve Mile Creek, Wallalong, Williamtown, Woodville.

Area: 1,285.57 sq km.

Population: 67,501. Enrolment: 53,413.

Political Party Activity

Member, Australian Labor Party.

Community Activity

Local Government Activity

Military Service

Honours Received


Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Bachelor of Arts (BA), University of Sydney. Bachelor of Laws (LLB), University of Sydney.

Additional Information

Inaugural Speech, 7 May 2015: