Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

Mr Gareth James WARD, BA, BCom, LLB, JP MP

Note: Information in this record may be out of date. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing changes to Members' details. Contact the Procedure Office for details.

Following the recent elections, there will be some delay before this section is updated. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing Members' details. In the interim, the NSW Electoral Commission website will have up to date information on the state of counting in each electorate, and announcement of the winning candidate when the poll is declared.

  • Ministers profiles are updated - after those ministers are sworn in by the Governor. Office addresses and contact telephone numbers are listed on this site only after the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet formally provides that information to the Parliament.
  • Members profiles are updated - after the Parliament receives notice that the writ announcing the winning candidate has been returned to the Governor. Contact telephone numbers and electorate office addresses for members in new electorates are listed on this site only after the members concerned provide their details to the Parliament.
This seat is currently vacant.
Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Kiama
Parliamentary Secretary for Education and the Illawarra and South Coast
Member of the Liberal Party
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages please select the correct address
Kiama Electorate Office
A Mr Gareth Ward, MP
102 Terralong Street
Postal Mr Gareth Ward MP
P (02) 4232 1082
F (02) 4232 3577
Kiama Electorate Office
Postal Mr Gareth Ward MP
As Member for Kiama
Postal Mr Gareth Ward
Kiama Electorate Office
Postal Mr Gareth Ward MP

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 26 Mar 2011
Member for Kiama 26 Mar 2011
Parliamentary Secretary 24 Mar 2017 Parliamentary Secretary for Education and the Illawarra and South Coast
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Parliamentary Secretary 01 Feb 2017 24 Mar 2017 1 mth 24 days Parliamentary Secretary for the Illawarra and South Coast
Parliamentary Secretary 24 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 yr 9 mths Parliamentary Secretary for the Illawarra and South Coast
Deputy Government Whip 06 May 2014 02 Apr 2015 10 mths 28 days
Temporary Speaker 06 May 2011 07 May 2014 3 yrs 2 days
Member, Standing Orders and Procedure Committee 14 May 2014 06 Mar 2015 9 mths 21 days
Chair, Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters 19 Aug 2013 06 Mar 2015 1 yr 6 mths 16 days
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters 22 Jun 2011 19 Aug 2013 2 yrs 1 mth 29 days Elected Chair of the Committee on 19 August 2013 (see separate entry).
Member, Legislation Review Committee 23 Feb 2012 23 May 2012 3 mths 1 day
About the Kiama Electorate
Rural. Located within Illawarra Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.

Principal centres: Albion Park, Albion Park Rail, Back Forest, Bamarang, Bangalee, Barren Grounds, Barrengarry, Barringella, Beaumont, Bellawongarah, Berry, Berry Mountain, Bolong, Bomaderry, Bombo, Brogers Creek, Broughton, Broughton Vale, Broughton Village, Browns Mountain, Budderoo, Budgong, Bundewallah, Burrier, Calderwood, Cambewarra, Cambewarra Village, Carrington Falls, Coolangatta, Croom, Curramore, Dunmore, Falls Creek, Far Meadow, Foxground, Gerringong, Gerroa, Illaroo, Jamberoo, Jaspers Brush, Jerrara, Kangaroo Valley, Kiama, Kiama Downs, Kiama Heights, Knights Hill, Longreach, Macquarie Pass, Marshall Mount, Meroo Meadow, Minnamurra, Moollattoo, Mundamia, Nerriga, North Macquarie, North Nowra, Nowra, Nowra Hill, Parma, Rose Valley, Saddleback Mountain, Sassafras, Shell Cove, Shoalhaven Heads, South Nowra, St George, Tapitallee, Tomerong, Tongarra, Toolijooa, Tullimbar, Upper Kangaroo River, Upper Kangaroo Valley, Watersleigh, Wattamolla, Werri Beach, West Nowra, Willow Vale, Woodhill, Woollamia, Yellow Rock, Yerriyong.

Area: 2275.06 sq km.

Population: 67,589. Enrolment: 54,027.

Political Party Activity - Joined Shoalhaven Young Liberals in 1997 at age 16. 1998 - 1999 Treasurer, Shoalhaven Young Liberals. 1999 - 2000 Secretary, Shoalhaven Young Liberals. 2000 - 2009 President, Shoalhaven Young Liberals. 2000 - 2005 Secretary, Gillmore FEC of the NSW Liberal Party. 1999 - present Delegate, NSW Liberal Party State Council. 1999 - 2001 Member, Policy Committee of the NSW Young Liberals. 2000 - 2001 Rural and Regional Officer, NSW Young Liberals. 2001 - 2002 Membership Officer, NSW Young Liberals. 2002 - 2003 Political Officer, NSW Young Liberals. 2003 - 2005 Member, State Platform Committee of the NSW Liberal Party. 2007 - 2012 Country Representative, State Executive of the NSW Liberal Party. 2007 – 2012 Member, Rural and Regional Committee of the NSW Liberal Party.
Community Activity - Patron, Berry Red Cross 2008 - present. Patron, Shoalhaven Dog Training Association 2008 - present. State Patron, University of Wollongong Liberal Club 2011 - present. Patron, Albion Park Show Society 2010 - present. Patron, Berry Show Society 2011 - present. Member, Bomaderry Bowling Club. Patron, Kiama U3A 2011 - present. Patron, Kiama Regional Wine Show 2011 - present. Patron, Kiama Jazz Club 2011 - present. Patron, Nowra Players 2011 - present. Patron, Links Shell Cove Golf Club 2011 - present. Patron, Shoalhaven Historical Society 2011 - present. Patron, Kiama and District Historical Society 2011 - present. Patron, Shoalhaven Rugby Club 2011 - present. Harold Ambassador, Life Education New South Wales 2011 - present. Honorary Patron, Noah's Ark Centre of Shoalhanven Inc 2011 - present. Patron, Albion Park Women's Hockey Club 2012 - present. Patron, The Roo Theatre Company 2012 - present. Secretary, Bipartisan Action Committee for Bravehearts 2012 - present. Patron, Peterborough Foundation Inc 2012 - present. Patron, The Links Shell Cove 2012 - present. Patron, Older Musicians Club of Australia. Patron, Nowra Croquet Club Inc 2013 - present. Patron, Gerringong Bowling and Recreation Club 2013 - present. Honorary Member, Kiama Golf Club, 2014 - present. Patron, South Coast District Cricket Association 2016 - present. Chair, Parliamentary Friends of the European Union 2015 - present.
Local Government Activity - 2004 - 2012 Councillor, Shoalhaven City Council. September 2008 to August 2010 Deputy Mayor, Shoalhaven City Council.

Executive Member, NSW Local Government Association
Military Service -
Honours Received -
Personal -
Qualifications, Occupations and Interests - Bachelors of Arts (BA), Bachelors of Commerce (B.Com) and Bachelors of Laws (LLB)

Debating and Public Speaking Coach and Coordinator, NSW Department of Education and Training Former advisor to NSW Senator John Tierney Director, Wollongong UniCentre Former advisor to Member for South Coast Shelley Hancock Director, Southern Water Services Deputy Mayor, Shoalhaven City Council Member of the University of Wollongong Council

Interests include - golf, reading and work, work, work
Additional Information -