Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

The Hon. David Andrew ELLIOTT, BA, MA, MStJ MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Baulkham Hills
Minister for Counter Terrorism, Minister for Corrections, and Minister for Veterans Affairs
Member of the Liberal Party
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Baulkham Hills Electorate Office
A The Hon. David Elliott, MP
Suite 1
25-33 Old Northern Road
P (02) 9686 3110
F (02) 9686 3212
Ministerial Office
A The Hon. David Elliott, MP
52 Martin Place
Postal The Hon. David Elliott MP
GPO Box 5341
P (02) 8574 6290
F (02) 9339 5564
E Contact the Minister for Counter Terrorism, Corrections, and Veterans Affairs

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 26 Mar 2011
Member for Baulkham Hills 26 Mar 2011
Minister for Corrections 30 Jan 2017
Minister for Counter Terrorism 30 Jan 2017
Minister for Veterans Affairs 30 Jan 2017
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Minister for Corrections 02 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 year 9 months 22 days
Minister for Emergency Services 02 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 year 9 months 22 days
Minister for Veterans Affairs 02 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 year 9 months 22 days
Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Youth, Homelessness and the Centenary of ANZAC 06 May 2014 28 Mar 2015 10 months 23 days
Chair, Legislative Assembly Committee on Economic Development 22 Jun 2011 14 May 2014 2 years 10 months 23 days
Chair, Joint Select Committee on the Parliamentary Budget Office 23 Jun 2011 02 Dec 2011 5 months 10 days
About the Baulkham Hills Electorate
Outer metropolitan, residential suburban. Located Sydney, north-western.

Principal suburbs: Baulkham Hills, Bella Vista, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Kellyville, North Rocks, West Pennant Hills.

Area: 41.61 sq km.

Population: 71,887. Enrolment: 54,645.

Political Party Activity

March 2013 Member for the Australian Political Exchange Council’s 21st delegation to Japan. 2007 to 2011 President, Hills Valley Branch of the Liberal Party. 1997 to 2003 Vice President, Dundas Branch of the Liberal Party. 1992 to 1996 Secretary, Bennelong FEC of the Liberal Party.

Community Activity

2009 to 1 October 2016 Director, Castle Hill RSL Club. 2008 to 2012 Director, Life Education Australia. 2008 to 2011 Member, Sydney Chamber of Commerce. 2006 to 2007 Member, Law Society Professional Standards Tribunal.

Local Government Activity

Military Service

Honours Received

Member, The Order of St John, 2015. Australian Defence Medal, Australian Army, 2007. Centenary Medal, Commonwealth of Australia, 2001. Australian Service Medal (Bougainville Clasp), Australian Army, 2000.


Married with 2 children.

Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Master of Arts (MA), Charles Sturt University, 1999. Officers Training, Royal Military College (Duntroon), 1995. Graduate Certificate in Public Policy (GradCertPubPol), University of New England, 1994. Bachelor of Arts (BA), University of Western Sydney, 1993. Higher School Certificate, Christian Community High School (Regents Park), 1987.

January 2008 to March 2011 Chief Executive Officer, Civil Contractors Federation (NSW). January 2004 2006 to January 2008 Deputy Chief Executive, Australian Hotels Association (NSW). December 2000 to January 2004 Operations Manager, St John Ambulance (NSW). January 2000 to December 2000 Captain, Australian Army - Bougainville, Papua New Guinea. January 1999 to December 1999 National Campaign Director, Australians for Constitutional Monarchy. April 1997 to December 1998 Press Secretary to the Hon Peter Collins QC MP, Leader of the Opposition. 1995 to 1997 Captain, Australian Army. 1993 to 1995 Media Officer, NSW Police Media Unit. December 1989 to December 1993 Research Officer to the Hon. John Howard MP.

Interests include:Travel, history, rugby, sailing and golf.

Additional Information

Chair, Ministerial Consultative Council on India. Secretary, Parliamentary Friends of India. Chair, Government Plumbing Advisory Council. Chair, St John Ambulance Parliamentary Auxiliary (NSW).

Inaugural speech, 31 May 2011: