Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

Mr Austin William EVANS, BEng(Ag)(Hons) MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Murray
Member of The Nationals
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Murray Electorate Office
A Mr Austin Evans, MP
NSW Government Offices
104-110 Banna Avenue
P (02) 6962 6644
F (02) 6962 7725
Murray Electorate Office
A Mr Austin Evans, MP
228 Cressy Street
P (03) 5881 7034
F (03) 5881 7839

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 14 Oct 2017
Member for Murray 14 Oct 2017
Member, Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission 23 Nov 2017
Member, Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption 20 Sep 2018
About the Murray Electorate
Rural. Located mostly within Lower Murrumbidgee Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.

Principal towns: Anabranch North, Anabranch South, Aratula, Argoon, Arumpo, Balranald, Barham, Barooga, Barratta, Beelbangera, Benerembah, Berrigan, Bilbul, Binya, Birganbigil, Blighty, Boeill Creek, Booligal, Boomanoomana, Boorga, Booroorban, Bullatale, Bunnaloo, Buronga, Burraboi, Caldwell, Calimo, Carrathool, Clare, Cobramunga, Coleambally, Conargo, Coomealla, Corbie Hill, Coree, Corrong, Cudgel, Cunninyeuk, Curlwaa, Dareton, Darlington Point, Deniliquin, Dhuragoon, Dilpurra, Ellerslie, Erigolia, Euroley, Euston, Finley, Gogeldrie, Gol Gol, Gonn, Goodnight, Goolgowi, Griffith, Gunbar, Hanwood, Hartwood, Hatfield, Hay, Hay South, Hillston, Ivanhoe, Keri Keri, Koraleigh, Kyalite, Lake Brewster, Lake Wyangan, Lalalty, Leeton, Lindifferon, Logie Brae, Mabins Well, Mallan, Mathoura, Maude, Mayrung, Melbergen, Mellool, Merriwagga, Merungle Hill, Moama, Monak, Monia Gap, Moolpa, Moonbria, Morago, Mossgiel, Moulamein, Mourquong, Mulwala, Murrami, Murray Downs, Myall Park, Myrtle Park, Nericon, Niemur, Noorong, One Tree, Oxley, Pan Ban, Paringi, Pine Lodge, Pomona, Pooncarie, Pretty Pine, Rankins Springs, Roto, Rufus, Savernake, Speewa, Stanbridge, Steam Plains, Stony Crossing, Stud Park, Tabbita, Tantonan, Tharbogang, Thule, Thyra, Tocumwal, Tooleybuc, Tooranie, Trentham Cliffs, Tullakool, Tuppal, Wakool, Wallanthery, Wandook, Wanganella, Warburn, Warragoon, Warrawidgee, Waugorah, Wentworth, Wetuppa, Whitton, Widgelli, Willbriggie, Willurah, Womboota, Yanco, Yanga, Yenda, Yoogali.

Area: 107,362.20 sq km.

Population: 79,746. Enrolment: 55,226.

Political Party Activity

2016 to 2017 Chair, Murray SEC, The Nationals. 2014 to 2017 Chair, Coleambally Branch, The Nationals. 2014 to 2016 Secretary, Murray SEC, The Nationals, 2016 to 2017 Member, NSW Central Council, The Nationals.

Community Activity

Member, Lay Preacher, Councillor, Youth Leader, Uniting Church in Australia, 1987 to present. Parent, Junior Coach, Coly Blues Football Netball Club, 2008 to present. Member, President, Coleambally Centralk School P&C, 2005 to present. Member, Coleambally Tennis Club, 2004 to present.

Local Government Activity

2008 to 2016 Councillor,Murrumbidgee Shire Council. 2014 to 2016 Mayor, Murrumbidgee Shire Council. 2016 to 2017 Administrator, Murrumbidgee Shire Council. 2017 to present Councillor, Murrumbidgee Shire Council.

Military Service

Honours Received


Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Certificate IV, Small Business Management, Wagga BEC, 2002. Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Agricultural Engineering) (BEng(Ag)(Hons)), University of Southern Queensland, 1998. Higher School Certificate, Narrandera High School, 1985.

2004 to 2017 Engineer and then GM Operations, Coleambally Irrigation Co-operative Limited. 2003 to 2014 Self Employed Computer Business. 2000 to 2002 Engineer, Kondinin Group. 1998 to 2000 Engineer, State Water Projects Qld. 1991 to 1995 Farm Labourer. 1989 to 1991 Youth Worker, West Wyalong Uniting Church. 1988 Assistant Tourist Officer, Narrandera Shire Council. 1986 to 1987 Fruit Picking, Metal Labourer, Farm Labourer, Delivery Driver.

Interests include - Playing guitar, Aussie Rules, water skiiing, camping.

Additional Information

Inaugural Speech, 14 November 2017: