Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

The Hon. Thomas GEORGE, MP

Note: Information in this record may be out of date. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing changes to Members' details. Contact the Procedure Office for details.

Following the recent elections, there will be some delay before this section is updated. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing Members' details. In the interim, the NSW Electoral Commission website will have up to date information on the state of counting in each electorate, and announcement of the winning candidate when the poll is declared.

  • Ministers profiles are updated - after those ministers are sworn in by the Governor. Office addresses and contact telephone numbers are listed on this site only after the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet formally provides that information to the Parliament.
  • Members profiles are updated - after the Parliament receives notice that the writ announcing the winning candidate has been returned to the Governor. Contact telephone numbers and electorate office addresses for members in new electorates are listed on this site only after the members concerned provide their details to the Parliament.
This seat is currently vacant.
Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Lismore
Deputy Speaker
Member of The Nationals
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages please select the correct address
Lismore Electorate Office
A The Hon. Thomas George, MP
55 Carrington Street
Postal The Hon. Thomas George MP
PO Box 52
P (02) 6621 3624
F (02) 6622 1403
Deputy Speaker
A The Hon. Thomas George, MP
Parliament of New South Wales
Macquarie Street
Postal The Hon. Thomas George MP
P (02) 9230 2059
F (02) 9230 2220
As Member for Lismore
Postal The Hon. Thomas George
Lismore Electorate Office
Postal The Hon. Thomas George MP

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 27 Mar 1999
Member for Lismore 27 Mar 1999
Deputy Speaker 03 May 2011
Member, Standing Orders and Procedure Committee 28 May 2015
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe) 29 Mar 2017
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
The Nationals Whip 31 Mar 2003 02 May 2011 8 yrs 1 mth 2 days The National Party changed it's name to The Nationals on 14 October 2003.
Temporary Speaker 08 May 2007 04 Mar 2011 3 yrs 9 mths 25 days
Member, Standing Orders and Procedure Committee 22 Jun 2011 06 Mar 2015 3 yrs 8 mths 13 days
Member, Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption 22 Jun 2011 06 Mar 2015 3 yrs 8 mths 13 days
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Environment and Regulation 22 Jun 2011 06 Mar 2015 3 yrs 8 mths 13 days
Member, Standing Committee on Natural Resource Management (Climate Change) 16 Oct 2007 11 Mar 2010 2 yrs 4 mths 24 days
Member, Joint Select Committee on Tobacco Smoking in New South Wales 25 May 2006 30 Jun 2006 1 mth 6 days Re-appointed to the Committee on 25 May 2006 following committee being re-established after prorogation.
Member, Joint Select Committee on Tobacco Smoking in New South Wales 08 Mar 2006 19 May 2006 2 mths 12 days Membership of Committee (and the Committee itself) dissolved with the prorogation of the Parliament on 19 May 2006.
Member, Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe) 19 Mar 2002 28 Feb 2003 11 mths 10 days
Member, House Committee 03 Jun 1999 28 Feb 2003 3 yrs 8 mths 26 days
Member, Standing Committee on Public Works 06 Dec 2001 20 Mar 2002 3 mths 15 days
About the Lismore Electorate
Rural. Located within Richmond/Tweed Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.

Principal centres: Acacia Creek, Afterlee, Amosfield, Babyl Creek, Back Creek, Barkers Vale, Bean Creek, Bentley, Bexhill, Bingeebeebra Creek, Blakebrook, Blue Knob, Boat Harbour, Bolivia, Bonalbo, Booerie Creek, Bookookoorara, Boomi Creek, Boonoo Boonoo, Boorabee Park, Boorook, Booyong, Bottle Creek, Bray Park, Brays Creek, Broadwater, Brumby Plains, Buckendoon, Bungabbee, Bungulla, Byangum, Byrrill Creek, Caniaba, Capeen Creek, Carrolls Creek, Cawongla, Cedar Creek, Cedar Point, Chilcotts Grass, Chillingham, Chowan Creek, Clunes, Coffee Camp, Collins Creek, Commissioners Creek, Coraki, Corndale, Cottonvale, Cougal, Crystal Creek, Cullendore, Culmaran Creek, Dairy Flat, Deep Creek, Deepwater, Dobies Bight, Doon Doon, Dorroughby, Doubtful Creek, Drake, Duck Creek, Dum Dum, Dumaresq Valley, Dunbible, Dungarubba, Dungay, Dunoon, Dyraaba, East Coraki, East Gundurimba, East Lismore, Eden Creek, Edenville, Eltham, Ettrick, Eungella, Fawcetts Plain, Fernside, Fernvale, Findon Creek, Geneva, Georgica, Ghinni Ghi, Girards Hill, Goolmangar, Goonellabah, Gorge Creek, Gradys Creek, Green Forest, Green Pigeon, Grevillia, Haystack, Hogarth Range, Homeleigh, Hopkins Creek, Horse Station Creek, Horseshoe Creek, Howards Grass, Iron Pot Creek, Jacksons Flat, Jennings, Jiggi, Joes Box, Keerrong, Kilgin, Kilgra, Koonorigan, Koreelah, Kunghur, Kunghur Creek, Kynnumboon, Kyogle, Lagoon Grass, Larnook, Legume, Leycester, Lillian Rock, Limpinwood, Lindendale, Lindesay Creek, Lismore, Lismore Heights, Liston, Little Back Creek, Loadstone, Loftville, Lower Acacia Creek, Lower Bottle Creek, Lower Duck Creek, Lower Dyraaba, Lower Peacock, Lynchs Creek, Mallanganee, Marom Creek, Maryland, Mckees Hill, Mcleans Ridges, Midginbil, Mingoola, Modanville, Mole River, Monaltrie, Mount Burrell, Mount Nardi, Mount Warning, Mountain Top, Mummulgum, Murwillumbah, New Koreelah, New Park, Nimbin, Nobbys Creek, North Arm, North Lismore, North Woodburn, Numinbah, Numulgi, Old Bonalbo, Old Grevillia, Old Koreelah, Paddys Flat, Pagans Flat, Peacock Creek, Pearces Creek, Piora, Pretty Gully, Pumpenbil, Repentance Creek, Richmond Hill, Rivertree, Rock Valley, Rocky River, Rosebank, Roseberry, Rowlands Creek, Ruby Creek, Rukenvale, Ruthven, Sandilands, Sandy Flat, Sandy Hill, Sawpit Creek, Sextonville, Sherwood, Silent Grove, Simpkins Creek, Smiths Creek, South Gundurimba, South Lismore, South Murwillumbah, Spring Grove, Stannum, Stokers Siding, Stony Chute, Sunnyside, Tabulam, Tatham, Tenterfield, Terania Creek, Terrace Creek, Terragon, The Channon, The Glen, The Risk, Theresa Creek, Timbarra, Tomewin, Tooloom, Toonumbar, Torrington, Tregeagle, Tucki Tucki, Tuckurimba, Tullera, Tuncester, Tunglebung, Tuntable Creek, Tyalgum, Tyalgum Creek, Tygalgah, Uki, Undercliffe, Unumgar, Upper Crystal Creek, Upper Duck Creek, Upper Eden Creek, Upper Horseshoe Creek, Upper Tooloom, Urbenville, Wadeville, Warrazambil Creek, West Wiangaree, Whian Whian, Wiangaree, Willsons Downfall, Woodenbong, Woodlawn, Woodside, Woolners Arm, Wylie Creek, Wyneden, Wyrallah, Yabbra, Zara.

Area: 13,020.61 sq km.

Population: 73,255. Enrolment: 54,529.

Political Party Activity - Joined the National Party in 1969. Chairman, National Party Agricultural Committee. Member, Coalition Social Development Advisory Committee.
Community Activity - Past Director of the Northern Co-operative Meat Co., and the Northern Region Westpac Life Saver Rescue Helicopter Board. Past President of the Casino Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and former Chairman of the Casino Beef Week Promotion Committee.
Local Government Activity -
Military Service -
Honours Received -
Personal - Married with three adult sons
Qualifications, Occupations and Interests - Educated at St Mary's Primary and Marist Brothers College Casino

Justice of the Peace. Previously Bank Officer, Stock and Station Agent, Real Estate Agent and Hotel Licensee.

Interests include: rugby league, rural industries.
Additional Information -