Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

How Parliament Works

How Parliament Works

‚ÄčParliament is the legislative arm of the three elements in the system of government. The other two are the executive (the Cabinet) and the judiciary (judges and courts). Each has separate functions and acts to balance the power of the others.

The Parliament of New South Wales is the law-making body for the State of New South Wales, directly elected by the people to make state laws, control state finances, and discuss matters of importance to the people of New South Wales. It consists of two democratically elected Houses the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Parliamentary elections determine the State Government which is formed by the party with majority support in the Lower House.

The State Premier and Ministers (the Cabinet) develop policy and carry out the laws through government departments. They remain members of Parliament and are responsible to it.