Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG)

Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG)

​​​​​​​​​​​​The Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG) is a politically non-partisan body which was established in 1978 to encourage and stimulate research, writing, teaching and discussion about parliamentary institutions, particularly those in Australasia and the South Pacific. The ASPG has Chapters in all States and Territories of Australia and in New Zealand.

Membership consists of parliamentarians, parliamentary officers, academics, teachers, journalists, students and other interested individuals.

Australasian Parliamentary Review
​​​​​​​​​​​Australasian Parliamentary Review​​

The Aus​tralasian Parliamentary Review​ is the official journal of the Australasian Study of Parliament Group.

The APR is committed to encouraging and stimulating research, writing and teaching about the parliamentary institutions of the region. Material on issues relating to parliament, whether arising from policy debates, major committee reports, political and electoral matters, referenda or significant court decisions, is published in the APR. Articles covering international events, where relevant to parliament, are also published.

The APR is published online twice a year.​​
​​​​​​​ASPG Annual Conference 

The ASPG holds an Annual Conference hosted by the Australasian parliaments on a rotational basis.

The 2022 Annual Conference, hosted by the Parliament of Victoria, explored Parliamentary transparency, checks and balances.

The 2023 Annual Conference was held from 27 to 29 September 2023 at the Parliament of Western Australia. The conference explored the privilege of Freedom of Speech, Debate and Information—a bedrock principle underpinning democracies, and ensuring the independence and effectiveness of parliaments in the Westminster tradition. 

The 2024 Annual Conference is scheduled for 2 to 4 October 2024 at the New Zealand Parliament, and will explore Parliamentary resilience in an ever-changing world.​​

Annual General Meetings

The most recent Annual General Meeting of the NSW Chapter of the ASPG took place on Wednesday 06 December 2023.

The main purpose of the meeting is to elect members to the NSW Chapter's Executive Committee and to discuss the Chapter's activities for the current and coming years.

Only ASPG members may attend the AGM.​


Membership of the NSW Chapter will cost $45 for the 2024/25 financial year and entitles you to:

  • online access to the Australasian Parliamentary Review​ (two issues per year) ​
  • discounts to attend the ASPG Annual Conference and other ASPG events
  • priority to attend seminars and other functions hosted or supported by the NSW Chapter.

To become a member, complete the ASPG NSW Chapter Online Membership Form​ or Printable ​Membership Form.​


For further information or to RSVP to events please contact the NSW Chapter Secretary/Treasurer:

Tilda Sikes

Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney 2000

(02) 9230 2185

[email protected]