Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Question and Answer Tracking Details

0367 - Planning and Public Spaces - LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

Field, Justin to the Minister for Mental Health, Regional Youth and Women representing the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

For each of the local government areas of Wollongong, Shellharbour, Kiama, Shoalhaven, Eurobodalla and Bega Valley (separately):

  1. What area of land is currently zoned R1 or R2 where there is no approved residential development consent?
  2. What area of land zoned R1 or R2 has a current residential development consent in place but where construction is yet to commence?
    1. How many lots are approved for residential development in these zones?
  3. Since 2010, how many hectares of land have been rezoned to a residential zoning from a rural or environmental zoning?
  4. How many hectares of native vegetation are currently zoned for residential development (whether or not they have a development consent in place)
    1. How many hectares of native vegetation are covered by existing residential development consents?
    2. Since 2010, how many hectares of native vegetation have been cleared for residential development?
Answer -
  1. The amount of land zoned for residential development but not yet subdivided⁄developed (as at June 2018) is reported in lot numbers rather than hectares. It would provide for approximate lot yields as follows:
    • Wollongong -14,600
    • Shellharbour - 7,800
    • Kiama -170
    • Shoalhaven -7,790
    • Eurobodalla - this data is not available to the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment (the Department).
    • Bega -this data is not available to the Department.
  2. The NSW Government currently does not require councils to provide data on development consents for which no construction· certificate has been sought or issued. However, improvements to the ePlanning system are being made, such as the online lodgement of development applications, which may allow this information to be captured in future.
  3. A review of the Department's on line LEP tracking system identifies that the approximate number of hectares of land rezoned from a rural or environmental zone to a residential zone since 2010 for the following local government areas is as follows:
    • Wollongong - 350
    • Shellharbour- 81
    • Kiama -18
    • Shoalhaven -576
    • Eurobodalla - 0.45
    • Bega -86
  4. The zoning of native vegetation areas is a matter for the Minister for Enviroment and Energy.
Question asked on 16 August 2019 (session 57-1) and published in Questions & Answers Paper No. 73
Answer received on 6 September 2019 and printed in Questions & Answers Paper No. 88