Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The Clerk and other officers

The Clerk and other officers

The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
​The Clerk is the head of the Department of the Legislative Assembly and the principal adviser to the Speaker on procedural issues and the operation of the Chamber. 
Ms Helen Minnican, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Ms Helen Minnican
Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Phone: (02) 9230 2666

Deputy Clerk
The Deputy Clerk supports the Clerk in providing leadership in all aspects of the operation of the Department.​ ​
Mr Leslie Gonye, Deputy Clerk
​Mr Leslie Gonye
Deputy Clerk
Phone: (02) 9230 2224
​Clerk-Assistant, House and Procedure
The Clerk-Assistant, House and Procedure manages the Table and Chamber Services business units and the Procedural Research and Protocol business unit.​ ​ ​ ​
Ms Carly Maxwell, Clerk-Assistant, House and Procedure
Ms Carly Maxwell
Clerk-Assistant, House and Procedure
Phone: (02) 9230 3439
Clerk-Assistant, Scrutiny and Engagement
The Clerk-Assistant, Scrutiny and Engagement manages the Committees business unit and is responsible for the Assembly's engagement initiatives.​ ​ ​ ​
Mr Jonathan Elliott, Clerk-Assistant, Scrutiny and Engagement
​Mr Jonathan Elliott
Clerk-Assistant, Scrutiny and Engagement
Phone: (02) 9230 2223

The Serjeant-at-Arms is the custodian of the Mace and responsible for a number of ceremonial events and security inside and outside of the Chamber, including the preservation of order, at the Speaker's direction, and the management of protocol and programs for visiting dignitaries and delegations.

Mr Simon Johnston
Serjeant-at-Arms and Director, House and Procedure
Phone: (02) 9230 2696