Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Committee Details

Joint Select Committee upon the Australian Constitution dealing with the Uniform Tax Scheme

The Committee operated in a previous Parliament. This page provides information on the inquiry it conducted.



(1.) That a Joint Committee be appointed to review such aspects of the working of the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution as the Committee considers it can most profitably consider, and to make recommendations for such amendments of such Constitution as the Committee thinks necessary in the light of experience.


(2.) That such Committee shall consist of eight Members of the Legislative Assembly and four Members of the Legislative Council exclusive of the Chairman of such Committee.


(3.) That the Chairman of the Committee be the Attorney-General, Minister of Justice and Vice-President of the Executive Council.


(4.) That Mr. Sheahan, Mr. Connor, Mr. Maher, Mr. Murphy, Mr. Askin, Mr. McCaw, Lieut.-Col. Bruxner, and Mr. Hughes, be appointed to serve on such Committee as the Members of the Legislative Assembly.


(5.) That the Chairman of the Committee may, from time to time, appoint another member of the Committee to be the Deputy Chairman of the Committee, and that the member so appointed act as Chairman of the Committee, at any time when the Chairman is not present at a meeting of the Committee.


(6.) That, in the absence of both the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman from a meeting of the Committee, the members present may appoint one of their number to act as Chairman.


(7.) That the Committee have power to appoint sub-committees consisting of four or more of its members, and to refer to any such sub-committee any matter which the Committee is empowered to examine.


(8.) That the Committee or any sub-committee thereof have leave to send for persons, papers and records, to adjourn from place to place and to sit during any adjournment of the Parliament or of either House of the Parliament and during the sittings of either House of the Parliament.


(9.) That the Committee have leave to report from time to time, and that any member of the Committee have power to add a protest or dissent to any report.


(10.) That any six members of the Joint Committee shall constitute a quorum of the Committee and any two members of a sub-committee shall constitute a quorum of the sub-committee.


(11.) That, in matters of procedure, the Chairman, or member acting as Chairman, of the Committee, have a deliberative vote and, in the event of an equality of voting, have also a casting vote, and that, in other matters, the Chairman, or member acting as Chairman, of the Committee have a deliberative vote only.


(12.) That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as are inconsistent with the foregoing Provisions of this Resolution.