Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Committee Details

Joint Select Committee upon Police Administration

The Committee operated in a previous Parliament. This page provides information on the inquiry it conducted.



(1) A Joint Select Committee be appointed to inquire into whether mechanisms of accountability, the existing roles and reporting relationships between the Minister for Police, the Police Board of New South Wales, the Inspector General of Police and the Commissioner of Police are adequate to ensure an efficient, effective and accountable Police Service in New South wales and may make such recommendations for reform as it considers desirable.


(2) In conducting the inquiry:

(a) the Committee shall have regard to the circumstances which resulted in the resignation of the Honourable E P Pickering MLC as Minister for Police and Emergency Services; and

(b) the Committee shall not duplicate the examination by the Ombudsman of the matters outlined in the report of the Ombudsman in the Parliament on 29 September, 1992 about the complaints of Mrs Carolyn Rigg about the conduct of the New South Police Service until such time as the Ombudsman's report is completed.


(3) That the Committee shall consist of six members of the Legislative Assembly and four members of the Legislative Council.