NSW Elections
Site Links
1981 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Castlereagh - 1981 (Roll: 34,313)
Retained by National Country Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Wotton, Roger Corfield Anson (Re-elected) National Country Party 16,636 53.38
Curran, James Lawrence (Defeated) Labor Party 14,529 46.62
Formal Votes 31,165
Informal Votes 461 1.46
Total Votes / Turnout 31,626 92.17
Notes: One the new boundaries, this former Labor electorate had a National Country Party majority. The seat was contested by the sitting Labor MP for Castlereagh Jim Curran, and the sitting NCP MP for the abolished seat of Burrendong, Roger Wotton.