NSW Elections
Site Links
1913 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Sturt - By-election (Roll: 10,569)
Retained by Labor Party
Nominations: Saturday, 13 January 1917, Polling: Saturday, 3 February 1917
Not contested by both major parties
Candidate Party Votes % 2nd Ball %
Brookfield, Percival John (Elected) Labor Party 3,301 54.42
Doe, Brian James Ind Labor 2,739 45.15
Evans, John Thomas Independent 26 0.43
Formal Votes 6,066
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 6,066 57.39
Cause Category: Resignation - Government Job
Notes: J.H.Cann resigned to accept the position of Railways Commissioner, a move that Evatt states was part of the deal that saw Holman combine with the opposition Liberals to create the new Nationalist Party. (Evatt p318) New Labor candidate Percival Brookfield was a supporter of the radical IWW, and this was used by his political opponents in the campaign, resulting in a slashing of the Labor majority. Doe had previously been a Labor Alderman on Broken Hill Council, but was expelled from the party during the conscription split. Doe won the Murray by-election held later in the year for the Nationalists. (Rydon, Spann and Nelson)
Source: Barrier Daily Truth, 6 February 1917, p.2 col.1, published declaration by returning officer, booths published same page col.1, includes roll. SMH published totals minus two booths, 5 February, p.12 col.4.