NSW Elections
Site Links
1913 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Bingara - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Independent gain from Labor Party
Nominations: Tuesday, 23 May 1916, Polling: Saturday, 10 June 1916
Not contested by both major parties
Candidate Party Votes % 2nd Ball %
McClelland, Alfred Labor Party 2,314 43.76
McDonald, George Roy William (Re-elected) Independent 2,974 56.24
Formal Votes 5,288
Informal Votes 52 0.97
Total Votes / Turnout 5,340 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: McDonald resigned after the bitter Labor Party State Conference in April 1916. The conference censured the government over Holman's failure to make Labor appointments to the Legislative Council. The bitterness led to Holman theatrically resigning the Labor Leadership, John Storey elected new Leader. When Storey addressed the conference clearly unhappy in the new role of Leader, the prospect of defeat at the next election caused the conference to change its mind on forcing the Ministry to resign, and Holman was returned to the Leadership. At no stage did Holman or the Cabinet resign their ministerial commissions, causing the rather proper Governor Strickland to voice some objections to Holman over his actions, pointing out that resignation should be to the King's representative, not some outside body or caucus. Amidst this farce, McDonald resigned as MP and from the Labor Party, winning re-election as an Independent at the subsequent by-election. Liberal Leader Wade and Progressive Leader Beeby arranged so that no conservative candidate nominated for the by-election.(Evatt pp289-293, p298) The by-election was held on the same day as the referendum that resulted in 6pm closing of hotels being introduced.
Source: SMH 13 June 1916, p.5 col.7, informal vote taken from earlier report with 2 booths to come, SMH 12 June, p.8 col.6. Slightly lower totals (absent Bells Swamp booth) including full booth results, Armidale Express, 13 June, p.8 col.1.