NSW Elections
Site Links
1910 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Mudgee - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Labor Party
Nominations: Wednesday, 2 August 1911, Polling: Wednesday, 16 August 1911
Candidate Party Votes % 2nd Ball %
Dunn, William Fraser (Re-elected) Labor Party 3,173 51.61
Gilbert, Owen Liberal Party 2,975 48.39
Formal Votes 6,148
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 6,148 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: Labor's land policy was to prevent leasehold land being converted to freehold. When Land Minister Nielsen attempted to legislate in this way, H.E.Horne (Liverpool Plains) and W.F.Dunn (Mudgee) resigned in protest. This left the government temporarily without a majority. Holman as Acting Premier requested Parliament be adjourned until after the by-elections, but the Governor declined this request. Rather than face a confidence vote, the Ministry and the Speaker resigned leaving the Governor no choice but to adjourn Parliament. The Labor Party quickly reversed the intent of its policy, causing Nielsen to resign as Lands Minister, but allowing Dunn to be re-elected as Labor candidate, going on to win the by-election. (Rydon Spann and Nelson)
Source: SMH 18 August 1911, p.9 col.8, with booths details published 17 August, p.9 col.8. Year Book of Australia (1913) p.314 publishes slightly different totals with Dunn on 3167.