NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Sydney-Fitzroy - 1901 (Roll: 3,008)
Won by Liberal Party
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Chapman, Henry (Defeated) Independent 379 22.49
Foran, Harry Ind Progressive 108 6.41
Garvan, Callaghan Francis Independent 20 1.19
Levy, Daniel (Elected) Liberal Party 605 35.91
McElhone, Arthur Ind Liberal 381 22.61
McKinnon, Donald McLeod Labor Party 121 7.18
O'Sullivan, Denis Roger Independent 71 4.21
Formal Votes 1,685
Informal Votes 15 0.88
Total Votes / Turnout 1,700 56.52
Notes: Hughes and Graham (1975) list Chapman as a Progressive, but he never appeared in any selected list. The SMH listed him as an Independent Opposition candidate, while the Telegraph listed him as an Independent at all times. The Telegraph's classification has been adopted given Chapman's past history as a Free Trade candidate. The Telegraph's classification of Foran as an non-selected Ministerial candidate has also been adopted.