NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Moree - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Liberal Party gain from Labor Party
Nominations: Tuesday, 1 December 1903, Polling: Saturday, 12 December 1903
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Stirton, Percy Ernest (Elected) Liberal Party 689 61.03
Zlotkowski, Alfredo Boleslas Fortunato Independent 440 38.97
Formal Votes 1,129
Informal Votes 15 1.31
Total Votes / Turnout 1,144 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Federal contest
Notes: William Webster was elected MHR for Gwydir at the 1903 federal election. The Labor Party did not contest the by-election because its candidate's nomination arrived too late. (Rydon Spann and Nelson). Zlotkowski described himself in the Moree Examiner as an 'Independent Reformist'.
Source: Moree Examiner, 19 December 1903, p.3 col.2 and p.4 col.3, published declaration by Returning Officer, with booths published 15 December, p.2 col.6. Totals in SMH 14 December 1902, p.6 col.8 had Zlotkowski on 438 votes.