NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Lismore - 1901 (Roll: 2,575)
Won by Ind Liberal
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Balmer, Richard Samuel Knox Ind Liberal 277 16.12
Campbell, Robert Edward Labor Party 12 0.70
Coleman, John William (Elected) Ind Liberal 824 47.96
Duffy, Charles James Progressive 12 0.70
Frith, James Hamilton Ind Liberal 62 3.61
O'Flynn, James Francis Ind Liberal 506 29.45
Russell, Frank Ind Liberal 25 1.46
Formal Votes 1,718
Informal Votes 32 1.83
Total Votes / Turnout 1,750 67.96
Notes: Sitting MP TT Ewing had been elected as MHR for Richmond at the first Commonwealth election in March. The Daily Telegraph listing has been used to classify five candidates as Independent Liberals. The SMH classified all as Independents. In particular, the Telegraph listed winning candidate Coleman as an Opposition supporter after the election.