NSW Elections
Site Links
1894 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Bathurst - 1894 (Roll: 2,403)
Won by Free Trade
Nominations: Saturday, 14 July 1894
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Smith, Sydney (Re-elected) Free Trade 995 49.68
Suttor, Francis Bathurst (Defeated) Protectionist 767 38.29
Walker, James Ind Labor 241 12.03
Formal Votes 2,003
Informal Votes 21 1.04
Total Votes / Turnout 2,024 84.23
Notes: Suttor was the sitting MP for Bathurst while Smith was sitting MP for East Macquarie. Walker was listed as a Protectionist Labor candidate in the Daily Telegraph, a designation repeated in Hughes and Graham (1975), but receives no affiliation in the SMH. He is listed here as an Independent Labor in line with the Australian Workman. The Worker listed him as a Labor candidate in June and as a modified pledge Labor candidate in the Brisbane Worker 7 July.