NSW Elections
Site Links
1891 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Sturt - 1891 (Roll: 8,306)
Won by Labor Party
Nominations: Saturday, 20 June 1891, Polling: Tuesday, 30 June 1891 (No poll held)
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Cann, John Henry (Elected) Labor Party Elected unopposed
Notes: Sitting MP Wyman Brown did not re-contest. He had been listed as a candidate earlier in the campaign. However, with an enrolment increase of 5,000 since 1889, and with the success of the Labor Party at earlier contests, perhaps he saw the futility of nominating.
Source: SMH 22 June 1891, p.6 col.2