NSW Elections
Site Links
1885 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Mudgee - By-election (Roll: 3,933)
Nominations: Tuesday, 29 June 1886, Polling: Friday, 2 July 1886 (No poll held)
Candidate Votes Votes %
Wall, William Chandos (Elected) Elected unopposed
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: Caused by the resignation of John Robertson, his ADB entry citing illness following a leg injury, dejection on the defeat of his government as well as financial problems. The new Jennings government granted him ten thousand pounds in recognition of his 30 years service in parliament and Robertson never again ran for election.
Source: SMH 30 June 1886, p.7 col.3
Corrections: This by-election is missing from the Legislative Council Consolidated Index.