NSW Elections
Site Links
1882 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Upper Hunter - By-election (Roll: 2,668)
Nominations: Saturday, 3 March 1883, Polling: Tuesday, 6 March 1883
Candidate Votes Votes %
Bowman, Alexander 173 12.67
Fitzgerald, Robert George Dundas 460 33.70
McElhone, John (Re-elected) 516 37.80
Wilshire, James Thompson 216 15.82
Formal Votes 1,365
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 1,365 51.16
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: McElhone won both Upper Hunter and East Sydney at the 1882 election. He resigned first from East Sydney, then later from Upper Hunter after a challenge from A G Taylor. McElhone contested and was defeated by Taylor in the Mudgee by-election conducted the same day. The Newcastle Herald reports 5 March 1883, p.3 col.2, that those nominating McElhone admitted to having 'no authority to nominate him', though this detail is absent from the Maitland Mercury's far longer report of the nominations. It has been assumed James T Wilshire is James Thompson Wilshire.
Source: Full report of nominations, Maitland Mercury 6 March 1883, page number unclear, with results in Mercury 8 March, same totals in SMH 8 March 1883, p.8 col.3, including booth results.