NSW Elections
Site Links
1859 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Upper Hunter - 1859 (Roll: 1,028)
Nominations: Monday, 20 June 1859, Polling: Friday, 24 June 1859
Candidate Votes Votes %
Dangar, Thomas 112 23.14
Deniehy, Daniel Henry 16 3.31
Robertson, John (Re-elected) 356 73.55
Formal Votes 484
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 484 47.08
Persons Voting / Turnout 484 47.08
Notes: John Robertson was sitting MP for Phillip, Brisbane and Bligh. Daniel Henry Deniehy had been sitting MP for Argyle, but contested West Sydney where he was defeated on 9 June, and while nominated here, appeared to be really contesting neighbouring Hunter, where he was also nominated and the election was conducted over the same days.
Source: Results published the Empire, 1 July 1859, p.4 col.5 reporting declaration of poll. Maitland Mercury report of nominations, 28 June p.2 col.2-3, reported that a Richard O'Connor was also nominated.