Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

The Hon. Troy Wayne GRANT, MP

Note: Information in this record may be out of date. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing changes to Members' details. Contact the Procedure Office for details.

Following the recent elections, there will be some delay before this section is updated. The Parliament must wait to receive formal notice before publishing Members' details. In the interim, the NSW Electoral Commission website will have up to date information on the state of counting in each electorate, and announcement of the winning candidate when the poll is declared.

  • Ministers profiles are updated - after those ministers are sworn in by the Governor. Office addresses and contact telephone numbers are listed on this site only after the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet formally provides that information to the Parliament.
  • Members profiles are updated - after the Parliament receives notice that the writ announcing the winning candidate has been returned to the Governor. Contact telephone numbers and electorate office addresses for members in new electorates are listed on this site only after the members concerned provide their details to the Parliament.
This seat is currently vacant.
Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Dubbo
Minister for Police, and Minister for Emergency Services
Member of The Nationals
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages please select the correct address
Dubbo Electorate Office
A The Hon. Troy Grant, MP
Shop 1
18 Talbragar Street
Postal The Hon. Troy Grant MP
P (02) 6882 3577
F (02) 6882 3689
Ministerial Office
A The Hon. Troy Grant, MP
52 Martin Place
Postal The Hon. Troy Grant MP
GPO Box 5341
P (02) 8574 6800
F (02) 9339 5536
E Contact the Minister for Police, and Emergency Services
As Member for Dubbo
Postal The Hon. Troy Grant
Dubbo Electorate Office
Postal The Hon. Troy Grant MP

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 26 Mar 2011
Member for Dubbo 26 Mar 2011
Minister for Emergency Services 30 Jan 2017
Minister for Police 30 Jan 2017
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Minister for Justice and Police 02 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 yr 9 mths 22 days
Minister for the Arts 23 Apr 2014 23 Jan 2017 2 yrs 9 mths 1 day
Minister for Racing 02 Apr 2015 23 Jan 2017 1 yr 9 mths 22 days
Deputy Premier 17 Oct 2014 15 Nov 2016 2 yrs 30 days
Minister for Trade and Investment 17 Oct 2014 02 Apr 2015 5 mths 17 days
Minister for Hospitality, Gaming and Racing 23 Apr 2014 02 Apr 2015 11 mths 11 days
Minister for Tourism and Major Events 17 Oct 2014 02 Apr 2015 5 mths 17 days
Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services 17 Oct 2014 02 Apr 2015 5 mths 17 days
Leader of The Nationals 16 Oct 2014 15 Nov 2016 2 yrs 1 mth
Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources 04 May 2011 17 Apr 2014 2 yrs 11 mths 14 days
Chair, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders 09 Sep 2014 14 Oct 2014 1 mth 6 days Re-appointed to the Committee as Chair on 9 September 2014 following committee being re-established after prorogation.
Chair, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders 29 Aug 2013 08 Sep 2014 1 yr 11 days Membership of Committee (and the Committee itself) dissolved with the prorogation of the Parliament on 8 September 2014.
Member, Social Policy Committee 22 Jun 2011 14 May 2014 2 yrs 10 mths 23 days
Member, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders 21 Aug 2013 29 Aug 2013 9 days Elected Chair of the Committee on 29 August 2013 (see separate entry).
About the Dubbo Electorate
Rural. Located within Central Slopes Statistical Agricultural Area.

Principal centres: Apple Tree Flat, Apsley, Arthurville, Avisford, Bakers Swamp, Ballimore, Bara, Barneys Reef, Ben Buckley, Beni, Benolong, Beryl, Birriwa, Bocoble, Bodangora, Bombira, Botobolar, Bournewood, Brocklehurst, Buckaroo, Budgee Budgee, Bundemar, Bungaba, Burroway, Burrundulla, Caerleon, Canadian Lead, Carcalgong, Collingwood, Comobella, Cooyal, Cope, Cross Roads, Crudine, Cudgegong, Cullenbone, Cumbandry, Cundumbul, Curra Creek, Dandaloo, Dripstone, Dubbo, Dunedoo, Elong Elong, Erudgere, Euchareena, Eumungerie, Eurimbla, Eurunderee, Farnham, Frog Rock, Galambine, Geurie, Gin Gin, Gollan, Goolma, Goonoo Forest, Grattai, Green Gully, Gulgong, Guntawang, Hargraves, Havilah, Hayes Gap, Hill End, Home Rule, Kains Flat, Kerrs Creek, Linburn, Loombah, Lue, Maitland Bar, Maryvale, Mebul, Medway, Menah, Meroo, Merotherie, Milroy, Minore, Mogriguy, Montefiores, Mookerawa, Mount Aquila, Mount Arthur, Mount Frome, Mount Knowles, Mudgee, Mullamuddy, Mumbil, Nanima, Narromine, Neurea, North Yeoval, Piambong, Ponto, Putta Bucca, Pyramul, Queens Pinch, Rawsonville, Riverlea, Spicers Creek, Spring Flat, St Fillans, Stony Creek, Stuart Town, Stubbo, Suntop, Tallawang, Tambaroora, Terrabella, Terramungamine, Tomingley, Toongi, Totnes Valley, Trangie, Triamble, Twelve Mile, Two Mile Flat, Ulan, Ullamalla, Walmer, Wambangalang, Wellington, Wilbetree, Windeyer, Wirrinya, Wongarbon, Worlds End, Wuuluman, Yarrabin, Yarragal, Yarrawonga.

Area: 17,352.89 sq km.

Population: 72,291. Enrolment: 53,893.

Political Party Activity -
Community Activity -
Local Government Activity -
Military Service -
Honours Received - National Medal, NSW Police, 19 November 2004. NSW Police Medal 2nd Clasp, NSW Police, 30 September 2004. Commissioners Commendation (Courage) NSW Police, 11 December 1993 and 17 November 1990. Commissioners Unit Citation, NSW Police, 2010. Northern Region Award (Dedication to Duty), NSW Police, 30 June 2001. Northern Region Award (Professionalism), NSW Police, 10 September 1996. Dubbo District Citation (Courage, Devotion to Duty, Professionalism), NSW Police, 12 June 1991. Dubbo District Citation (Initiative), NSW Police, 17 June 1990.
Personal - Married with 2 children.
Qualifications, Occupations and Interests - Certifcate of Policing, NSW Police, 1990. Graduate Certificate of Applied Management, AIPM, 2010. Advanced Diploma Managment (HR), Western Institute of TAFE, 2010. Dip. Management, Western Institute of TAFE, 2011.

April 1989 to March 2011 Inspector, NSW Police.

Interests/Hobbies - Keen sportsman and recrecational shooter. Held Guiness Book of Records World Record for most holes of golf played in 7 days (1,800 in 2004). Interests also include geneology, political history, ancient history and travel.
Additional Information - Inaugural speech, 14 June 2011: