Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

The Hon. Paul Lawrence TOOLE, DipTeach MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Bathurst
Shadow Minister for Police
Member of The Nationals
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Bathurst Electorate Office
A The Hon. Paul Toole, MP
Suites 1 and 2
229 Howick Street
P (02) 6332 1300
F (02) 6332 1900
E [email protected]

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Law and Safety 22 Jun 2023
Shadow Minister for Police 03 May 2023
Member for Bathurst 26 Mar 2011
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 26 Mar 2011
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Shadow Minister for Regional NSW 03 May 2023 09 May 2023 7 days
Minister for Police 21 Dec 2021 28 Mar 2023 1 year 3 months 8 days
Leader of The Nationals 06 Oct 2021 08 May 2023 1 year 7 months 3 days
Deputy Premier 06 Oct 2021 28 Mar 2023 1 year 5 months 23 days
Minister for Regional New South Wales 06 Oct 2021 28 Mar 2023 1 year 5 months 23 days
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads 06 Oct 2021 21 Dec 2021 2 months 16 days
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads 02 Apr 2019 05 Oct 2021 2 years 6 months 4 days
Deputy Leader of The Nationals 29 Mar 2019 06 Oct 2021 2 years 6 months 8 days
Minister for Lands and Forestry 30 Jan 2017 02 Apr 2019 2 years 2 months 4 days
Minister for Racing 30 Jan 2017 02 Apr 2019 2 years 2 months 4 days
Minister for Local Government 23 Apr 2014 23 Jan 2017 2 years 9 months 1 day
Member, Legislative Assembly Committee on Transport and Infrastructure 22 Jun 2011 14 May 2014 2 years 10 months 23 days
Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier and for Asia-Pacific Trade 04 May 2011 17 Apr 2014 2 years 11 months 14 days
About the Bathurst Electorate

Includes partially or wholly the following localities and postcodes.

Localities: Aarons Pass, Abercrombie, Abercrombie River, Arkell, Arkstone, Bald Ridge, Ballyroe, Bara, Barry, Bathampton, Bathurst, Ben Bullen, Billywillinga, Black Springs, Blackmans Flat, Blayney, Bogee, Bowenfels, Breakfast Creek, Brewongle, Brogans Creek, Browns Creek, Bruinbun, Budden, Burnt Yards, Burraga, Bylong, Caloola, Camboon, Capertee, Carcoar, Carwell, Charbon, Charlton, Chatham Valley, Clandulla, Clarence, Clear Creek, Cobar Park, Coggan, Colo, Copperhannia, Corney Town, Cow Flat, Coxs Creek, Coxs Crown, Crudine, Cudgegong, Cullen Bullen, Dabee, Dargan, Dark Corner, Doctors Gap, Dog Rocks, Duckmaloi, Dungeree, Dunkeld, Dunville Loop, Duramana, Edith, Eglinton, Errowanbang, Essington, Evans Plains, Fitzgeralds Mount, Fitzgeralds Valley, Forest Grove, Forest Reefs, Fosters Valley, Freemantle, Ganbenang, Garland, Gemalla, Georges Plains, Gilmandyke, Ginghi, Gingkin, Glanmire, Glen Alice, Glen Davis, Good Forest, Gormans Hill, Gowan, Growee, Gurnang, Hampton, Hartley, Hartley Vale, Hazelgrove, Hermitage Flat, Hill End, Hobbys Yards, Ilford, Isabella, Jaunter, Jenolan, Jeremy, Jerrong, Judds Creek, Kandos, Kanimbla, Kelgoola, Kelso, Killongbutta, Kings Plains, Kirkconnell, Laffing Waters, Lee Creek, Lidsdale, Limekilns, Lithgow, Little Hartley, Littleton, Llanarth, Locksley, Lowther, Lue, Lyndhurst, Mandurama, Marrangaroo, Mayfield, McKellars Park, Meadow Flat, Megalong Valley, Milkers Flat, Millah Murrah, Millthorpe, Mitchell, Monivae, Moorilda, Morts Estate, Mount David, Mount Lambie, Mount Marsden, Mount Olive, Mount Panorama, Mount Rankin, Mount Werong, Mozart, Murrumbo, Napoleon Reef, Neville, Newbridge, Newnes, Norway, Nullo Mountain, Oakey Park, Oberon, O'Connell, Olinda, Orton Park, Paling Yards, Palmers Oaky, Panuara, Peel, Perthville, Pinnacle Swamp, Porters Retreat, Portland, Pottery Estate, Pyangle, Raglan, Robin Hill, Rock Forest, Rockley, Rockley Mount, Round Swamp, Running Stream, Rydal, Rylstone, Sallys Flat, Sheedys Gully, Shooters Hill, Sodwalls, Sofala, South Bathurst, South Bowenfels, South Littleton, State Mine Gully, Stewarts Mount, Sunny Corner, Tallwood, Tambaroora, Tannas Mount, Tarana, The Lagoon, The Meadows, The Rocks, Triangle Flat, Trunkey Creek, Turondale, Upper Bylong, Upper Growee, Upper Nile, Upper Turon, Vale Of Clwydd, Vittoria, Walang, Wallerawang, Wambool, Wattle Flat, Watton, West Bathurst, White Rock, Wiagdon, Wimbledon, Windradyne, Wisemans Creek, Wolgan Valley, Yarras, Yetholme.

Postcodes: 2580, 2785, 2786, 2787, 2790, 2791, 2792, 2795, 2797, 2798, 2799, 2800, 2845, 2846, 2847, 2848, 2849, 2850.

Area: 16326.76 square kilometres

Enrolment: 57,279

Political Party Activity

September 2010 to present Member, Bathurst Branch of The Nationals.

Community Activity

Member, Oxford - Centennials Cricket Club 1985 to 2012.
Member, Collegians Soccer Club 2002 to 2010.

Local Government Activity

September 2007 to September 2012 Mayor, Bathurst Regional Council. March 2005 to September 2007 Deputy Mayor, Bathurst Regional Council. September 1995 to May 2004 Councillor, Evans Shire Council.

Military Service

Honours Received


Married with 3 children.

Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Diploma in Teaching (DipTeach), Mitchell College of Advanced Education, 1991.

January 1995 to April 2011, School Teacher, Assumption Primary School - Catholic Education Office, Bathurst. January 1994 to December 1994, School Teacher, Sacred Heart School - Catholic Education Office, Orange. February 1992 to December 1993 School Teacher, Glenroi Heights Public School - Department of Education, Orange.

Interests include - family, walking, cycling, running, sport, watching Rugby League (St George), Soccer (Manchester United), AFL (Sydney Swans), and reading.

Additional Information

Inaugural speech, 25 May 2011: