Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Member Details

Dr (Joe) Joseph Gregory MCGIRR, BSc(Med), MB BS, MHSA, FACEM, FRACMA MP

Member Photo
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Wagga Wagga
Contact Details
To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address.
Wagga Wagga Electorate Office
A Dr Joe McGirr, MP
64 Baylis Street
P (02) 6921 1622
F (02) 6921 4424

Parliamentary Activity
Current Positions
Position Start Notes
Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 08 Sep 2018
Member for Wagga Wagga 08 Sep 2018
Chair, Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission 30 Mar 2022
Member, Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission 19 Jun 2019
Deputy Chair, Modern Slavery Committee 13 Oct 2022
Member, Modern Slavery Committee 21 Sep 2022
Prior Positions
Position Start End Period Notes
Deputy Chair, Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission 20 Jun 2019 30 Mar 2022 2 years 9 months 11 days
Member, Joint Select Committee on the Anti-Discrimination Amendment (Religious Freedoms and Equality) Bill 2020 18 Jun 2020 31 Mar 2021 9 months 14 days
About the Wagga Wagga Electorate
Rural. Located within Southern Slopes Statistical Agricultural Area.

Principal centres: Adelong, Alfredtown, Alma Park, Argalong, Ashmont, Bangadang, Batlow, Belfrayden, Big Springs, Black Creek, Blowering, Bombowlee, Bomen, Book Book, Boorooma, Borambola, Boree Creek, Bourkelands, Brindabella, Brookdale, Brookong, Brucedale, Brungle, Brungle Creek, Bulgary, Burrandana, Califat, Cartwrights Hill, Charles Sturt University, Collingullie, Cooleys Creek, Couragago, Cullivel, Currawarna, Darlow, Downside, East Wagga Wagga, Ellerslie, Estella, Euberta, Eunanoreenya, Fargunyah, Forest Hill, French Park, Gadara, Galore, Ganmain, Gelston Park, Gilmore, Glenfield Park, Gobbagombalin, Gocup, Goobarragandra, Grahamstown, Green Hills, Gregadoo, Gumly Gumly, Harefield, Henty, Hillgrove, Humula, Jones Bridge, Kapooka, Killimicat, Kooringal, Kunama, Kyeamba, Lacmalac, Ladysmith, Lake Albert, Laurel Hill, Little River, Lloyd, Lockhart, Lower Bago, Mangoplah, Marrar, Matong, Maxwell, Milbrulong, Minjary, Moorong, Mount Adrah, Mount Austin, Mount Horeb, Mundongo, North Wagga Wagga, Oberne Creek, Osborne, Oura, Pleasant Hills, Pulletop, Rand, Rowan, Ryan, San Isidore, Sandy Gully, Sharps Creek, Springvale, Talbingo, Tarcutta, Tatton, The Gap, The Rock, Tolland, Tootool, Tumorrama, Tumut, Tumut Plains, Turvey Park, Urana, Urangeline East, Uranquinty, Wagga Wagga, Walbundrie, Wallacetown, Wereboldera, Wermatong, Westwood, Windowie, Wondalga, Wyangle, Yarragundry, Yaven Creek, Yerong Creek.

Area: 12,108.11 sq km.

Population: 73,439. Enrolment: 55,698.

Political Party Activity

Community Activity

Board Member, Cancer Council NSW, 2015 to present.

Member Regional Advisory Council, Cancer Council NSW South West Region, 2011 to present.

Board Member, National Rural Health Alliance, 2016 to 2018.

Member, Board of Censors Royal Australasian College for Medical Administrators, 2016 to present.

Member School Council, Kildcare Catholic College Wagga Wagga, 2016 to present.

Local Government Activity

Military Service

Honours Received

Distinguished Fellow Award, Royal Australasian College for Medical Administrators, 2017.

Bernard Nicholson memorial Prize Winner, Royal Australasian College for Medical Administrators, 2013.


Born 19 June 1960.

Married to Dr Kerin Fielding. Has four children (Lara, Natasha, Dylan and Anna).

Qualifications, Occupations and Interests

Bachelor of Science (Medicine), University of Sydney, 1981. (BSc (Med).

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, University of Sydney, 1984. (MB BS).

Master Health Service Management, Charles Sturt University, 2014. (MHSA).

Fellowship, Australasian College for Emergency Medicine, 1991. (FACEM).

Fellowship, Royal Australasian College for Medical Administrators, 2013. (FRACMA).


Associate Dean, Rural, University of Notre Dame, 2011 to 2018.

Executive Director Medical Services, Greater Southern Area Health Service, 2009 to 2011.

Director Clinical Operations, Greater Southern Area Health Service, 2005 to 2009.

Chief Executive Officer, Greater Murray Area Health Service, 2002 to 2004.

Additional Information