NSW Elections
Site Links
1973 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Bass Hill - 1973 (Roll: 31,482)
Retained by Labor Party
Candidate Party Votes % Final %
Clark-Smith, Raymond Charles Liberal Party 11,277 39.31
Wran, Neville Kenneth (Elected) Labor Party 17,413 60.69
Formal Votes 28,690
Informal Votes 1,060 3.56
Total Votes / Turnout 29,750 94.50
Notes: Sitting Labor MP Clarrie Earl retired. The late announcement of his retirement allowed the Labor Party to slot Legislative Council Leader Neville Wran into the seat. He challenged for and was narrowly elected leader after the election.