NSW Elections
Site Links
1910 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Yass - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Labor Party
Nominations: Wednesday, 12 February 1913, Polling: Wednesday, 5 March 1913
Candidate Party Votes % 2nd Ball %
Bourke, Patrick Michael Liberal Party 2,931 49.65
McGirr, John Joseph Gregory (Elected) Labor Party 2,972 50.35
Formal Votes 5,903
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 5,903 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Other
Notes: Caused by the resignation of Niels Nielsen.
Source: SMH 7 March 1913, p.9 col.3, booths reported 6 March, p.9 col.4. Same totals Yass Courier, 6 March 1913, p.2 col.3, inlcudes booth results. Published declaration not located.
Corrections: The Legislative Council Consolidated Index incorrectly lists this by-election as being caused by Nielsen's death. Other Parliamentary records list Nielsen's death as occurring in 1930.