NSW Elections
Site Links
1910 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Namoi - 1910 (Roll: 10,183)
Labor Party gain from Independent
Not contested by both major parties
Candidate Party Votes % 2nd Ball %
Black, George (Elected) Labor Party 3,267 60.28
O'Reilly, Hubert de Burgh Ind Liberal 2,153 39.72
Formal Votes 5,420
Informal Votes 160 2.87
Total Votes / Turnout 5,580 54.80
Notes: Sitting member A.E.Collins did not contest the election. O'Reilly was listed as a Liberal in the Daily Telegraph, but as an Independent Liberal in the SMH, including in the list of selected candidates, 14 October p.3. Hughes and Graham (1975) listed him as an Independent, but the SMH affiliation of Independent Liberal has been adopted.