NSW Elections
Site Links
1901 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Gundagai - 1901 (Roll: 2,897)
Won by Progressive
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Barnes, John Frederick (Re-elected) Progressive 785 39.41
Cook, James Ind Liberal 49 2.46
Griffin, Walter Tremenheere Independent 709 35.59
Miller, John James Liberal Party 449 22.54
Formal Votes 1,992
Informal Votes 22 1.09
Total Votes / Turnout 2,014 69.52
Notes: The SMH classified Miller as an Independent Liberal, but the Daily Telegraph included him in its list of selected Liberals, and in its list of defeated Liberals.