NSW Elections
Site Links
1898 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
The Hume - By-election (Roll: n.a.)
Retained by Protectionist
Nominations: Thursday, 4 April 1901, Polling: Wednesday, 17 April 1901
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
McGrath, John Joseph Independent 528 33.10
McLaurin, Gordon Ranald (Elected) Protectionist 745 46.71
Miller, John James Independent 322 20.19
Formal Votes 1,595
Informal Votes 0 0.00
Total Votes / Turnout 1,595 0.00
Cause Category: Resignation - Federal contest
Notes: Caused by the resignation of Premier Sir William Lyne to contest the first federal election in March 1901. Lyne had served as both Premier and as a Minister in the Barton Ministry since the inauguration of the Commonwealth at the start of 1901. He was elected MHR for the federal seat of Hume.
Source: SMH 23 April 1901, p.5 col.7, reported declaration of poll. Same totals in the Albury Banner, 26 April 1901, p.19 col.2 including booth results.