NSW Elections
Site Links
1898 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Cowra - 1898 (Roll: 2,329)
Retained by National Federal
Nominations: Wednesday, 20 July 1898
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Lamond, Hector Labor Party 581 41.18
Waddell, Thomas (Re-elected) National Federal 830 58.82
Formal Votes 1,411
Informal Votes 10 0.70
Total Votes / Turnout 1,421 61.01
Notes: Waddell had been the MP for Cobar. Sitting MP M T Phillips did not re-contest.
Source: Cowra Free Press, 4 August 1898, p.2 col.4 including booths. Same figures used in Year Book of Australia (1899), and both figures match the total of votes published in the Statistical Regiser. Result in SMH 29 July 1898, p.6 col.1, noted as 'complete' in col.4, is slightly different with Lamond on 582 and Waddell 831.