NSW Elections
Site Links
1894 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Woronora - 1894 (Roll: 1,963)
Won by Ind Labor
Nominations: Thursday, 12 July 1894
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Bissell, Thomas Free Trade 643 38.07
Lindsley, Robert Ind Free Trade 5 0.30
Mitchell, Joseph Ind Free Trade 223 13.20
Nicholson, John Barnes (Re-elected) Ind Labor 755 44.70
Riley, Thomas Ind Protectionist 63 3.73
Formal Votes 1,689
Informal Votes 17 1.00
Total Votes / Turnout 1,706 86.91
Notes: Nicholson was a sitting MP for Illawarra. He is clearly listed in the Australian Workman as Independent Labor and is missing from the list of selected candidates in the SMH. He was not mentioned in the Worker until the Brisbane issue of 7 July when he was included as a modified pledge Labor candidate.