NSW Elections
Site Links
1894 Election Links
Prev/Next District
Prev/Next Contest
Manaro - 1894 (Roll: 2,081)
Won by Protectionist
Nominations: Thursday, 12 July 1894
No absolute majority for winning candidate
Candidate Party Votes Votes %
Dawson, Henry (Defeated) Protectionist 160 10.11
Miller, Gustave Thomas Carlisle (Re-elected) Protectionist 772 48.77
O'Brien, John Ignatius Independent 85 5.37
Ryrie, Granville de Laune Free Trade 276 17.44
Welch, Charles Frederick Ind Protectionist 290 18.32
Formal Votes 1,583
Informal Votes 28 1.74
Total Votes / Turnout 1,611 77.41
Notes: Dawson and Miller were both sitting MPs for Monaro and both were included as selected Protectionist candidates. O'Brien was listed as Independent Labor by the Telegraph, Labor by the Town and Country Journal and Protectionist by the SMH and Star. He was not listed in either the Australian Workman or the Worker. With conflicting sources, he has been listed as an Independent.